Anand - Carlsen 2013 opening ceremony today Print
Wednesday, 06 November 2013 22:19
opening-ceremony-1 The FIDE World Chess Championship match between title holder Viswanathan Anand and Norway’s Magnus Carlsen, fully sponsored by the Government of Tamil Nadu, is going to be officially opened today, November 7th, in the host city of Chennai.

The opening day will start with a Press Conference that will be held at 13:00 local time (8:30 am CET, 2:30 am EST) at Hotel Hyatt Regency. Both players, the World Champion Viswanathan Anand and the Challenger World No.1 Magnus Carlsen will be presented on the occasion and will address the media.

The FWCM 2013 is all set to be inaugurated at the Nehru Indoor Stadium in Chennai at 16:00 local time (11:30 am CET, 5:30 am EST) the same day. Proper to a World Championship final match, the anthems of India, Norway, and FIDE will be played in the opening ceremony. An audio-visual show and a colorful cultural programs are part of the event, together with the match detail that chess fans around the world anticipate the most: Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Ms J Jayalalithaa will draw the colors for game 1, revealing who will start with the white pieces. The Sports Minister of Tamil Nadu will give the welcome address and FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov will make the Presidential address.

Live coverage of opening ceremony in video by National Television network DD-Sports and the official website chennai2013.fide.com
 
banner_president_200
 banner ptwitter
banner_ratings_200
banner arena v5
banner sportaccord2014
banner comm events
banner comm rules
banner comm pairings
banner_fidecis195
banner_suggest
facebook twitter gplus rss
banner_bids50
© 2008 World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed