2016 Candidates Tournament Announcement Print
Thursday, 10 December 2015 14:09

official logo

FIDE announces that the deadline for player's participation in the Candidates Tournament is 11 January 2016. The event will be held in Moscow, Russia from 10 March (arrivals/opening ceremony) to 30 March 2016 (departures) and the qualifiers are:

1. Vishy Anand (IND, world championship 2014 finalist)
2. Sergey Karjakin (RUS, world cup 2015 winner)
3. Peter Svidler (RUS, world cup 2015 finalist)
4. Fabiano Caruana (USA, grand-prix 2014-15 winner)
5. Hikaru Nakamura (USA, grand-prix 2014-15 runner-up)
6. Veselin Topalov (BUL, rating lists 2015)
7. Anish Giri (NED, rating lists 2015)
8. Levon Aronian (ARM, organiser's nominee)

First reserve from the FIDE Grand-Prix standings is Dmitry Jakovenko (RUS).

The winner of the Candidates Tournament will challenge Magnus Carlsen for the world championship title in the last quarter of 2016.


arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed