Dhamso International Chess Festival 2017 Print
Thursday, 11 May 2017 08:07

Dhamso International Chess Festival 2017 was organized by the Dharmasoka College Old Boys’ Chess Association for the seventh consecutive year on behalf of the CFSL, Asian Chess Federation and the World Chess Federation. Event was held in down south Sri Lanka at beautiful city of Ambalangoda which is a coastal town. DICF 2017 was held from 27th April to 3rd May 2017 where event was held 9 rounds with swiss pairing.

416 Players from 4 federations competed in the Dhamso International Chess Festival 2017 where IM Thej Kumar from India with 2482 was the top seated player. Players from India, Bangladesh and Maldives were in the event. Total cash fund was LKR 400,000.00 where first prize was LKR 75,000.00. IM Thej Kumar won the title of DICF 2017 player of the year with winning all the games. He was the only player unbeaten throughout the event. He scored 9/9 points. Twol players tied for the 2nd position but with better tie break Abhishek Das (ELO 2286) secured the 1st Runner up position and A A C B Amarasinghe from Sri Lanka had to satisfied with the 2nd Runner Up position.

WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera won the women championship with tied with W A Tiumi Yasora. Both scored 7/9 points but with better tie break Sayuni won the championship and Tiumi had to satisfy with 1st Runner Up position. Five players tied for the 2nd Runner up position with 6/9 points. But with better tie break Shalini De Silva secured the 2nd runner up position.

Dhamso International Chess Festival 2017 finished with grand manner with good memories. Welcome all of you for the 8th Dhamso International Chess Festival 2018 next year.

Dhamso winner

Dhamso Winners

Dhamso Women Champion

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed