Indonesia, China win Eastern Asia Juniors and Girls Print
Tuesday, 06 June 2017 06:59

Novendra Priasmoro of Indonesia and Chu Ruotong of China won the Juniors and Girls divisions, respectively of the first Eastern Asia Juniors and Girls Championships organized by the City of Tagaytay under the auspices of the Asian Chess Federation, the National Chess Federation of the Philippines and the Philippine Sports Commission, 27th May to 4th June 2017 at the Tagaytay International Convention Center in Tagaytay City, Philippines.

Jeth Romy Morado (PHI) won the boys under-18 medal followed by IM Tin Jingyao of Singapore and Haince Patrick de Leon (PHI). Daniel Quizon (PHI) won the boys Under-16 medal followed by FM Alekhine Nouri and Justine Diego Mordido, all of the Phhilippines.

Among the girls, WFM Nur Nabila Azman Hisham of Malaysia won the under-18 medal followed by Kylen Joy Mordido of the Philippines and Vania Vindy Chandra of Indonesia. WFM Sharfina Juwita Ardelia (INA) won the Under-16 medal followed by Tin Ruiqi (SGP) and Jerlyn Mae San Diego (PHI).

The juniors blitz championship was won by FM Yoseph Throlifus Taher (INA) followed by IM Paolo Bersamini and Justine Diego Mordido, both of the Philippines. The girls blitz championship was won by WFM Shania Mae Mendoze followed by Chu Ruotong (CHN) and WFM Allaney Jia Doroy (PHI).

Visit for round by round results of the standard and blitz championships and to download games.


Asian Chess Federation Executive Director Casto Abundo (left) awarding the champions trophy to Novendra Priasmoro of Indonesia (center), Runner up Yoseph Theolifus Taher (INA), second from left, and third place Stephen Rome Pangilinan of the Philippines. Priasomoro earned the IM title and a GM norm. Taher and Pangilinan earned IM norms.

Indonesian delegation head Kristianus Liem (left) awards trophies to girls champion Chu Ruotong of China (center). Runner up Marie Antoinette San Diego of the Philippines, second from left, and third place Nur Najiha Azman Hisham of Malaysia. Chu earned the WIM title and a WGM norm. San Diego finished equal first and earned the WIM title. Azman earned a WIM norm.

FIDE Secretary General Abraham Tolentino (seated) and girls top seed Chu Ruotong of China make the ceremonial opening moves as other representatives look on from Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Myanmar and Philippines.

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed