Ganguly wins 7th Parsvnath International Print
Wednesday, 21 January 2009 06:40


National Champion Surya Shekhar Ganguly won the 7th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament with 8.5 points here at Modern School in Delhi, India. Ganguly tied for the top spot along with Russian Grandmaster Mikhail Ulibin, but a better tie break score helped him to take the pole position.

In the final round, Ganguly settled for a quick draw against P Karthikeyan in just 15 moves while Ulibin got the better of M S Thejkumar. The two way tie was resolved by Buccholz score and Ganguly edged out Ulibin by just a half point.  Grandmaster Petr Kostenko drew his final game against Indian Grandmaster Neeltopal Das and finished a creditable third with 8 points.  


P Karthikeyan and S P Sethuraman achieved the grandmaster norm during this tournament and finished fourth and fifth respectively.  International Master Prathamesh Mokal also achieved the Grandmaster norm while Shahikant Kutwal, Prantik Roy and Arindam Mukherjee secured their International Master norms.


Shalmali Gagare bagged the best women prize while Altykenov Yerlan of Kazakhstan finished first among the unrated players.  Joshi G B and Arunima Kalra become the best Delhi Player and Best Delhi Girl respectively.





In the closing ceremony, Air Marshal JN Burma AVSM VSM, Air Officer-in-Charge Administration, Indian Air Force gave away the prizes in presence of Shri. Harish Rawat, Member of Parliament and D V Sundar, Secretary of the All India Chess Federation.


Final Standings :- (1) GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly (2) GM Mikhail Ulibin of Russia (3) GM Petr Kostenko of Kazakhstan (4) IM P Karthikeyan (5) IM SP Sethuraman (6) GM Yuriy Kuzubov of Ukraine (7) GM Neelotpal Das (8) IM RR Laxman (9) GM Anuar Ismagambetov of Kazakhstan (10) GM Abhijit Kunte


Important Results of Round 10 (Indians otherwise stated):


GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly (8.5) drew with IM P Karthikeyan (8) ; GM Mihail Ulibin of Russia (8.5) beat M S Thejkumar (7.5) ; GM Neelotpal Das (8) drew with GM Petr Kostenko of Kazakhstan (8) ; IM Suvrajit Saha (7) lost to GM Yuriy Kuzubov of Ukraine (8) ; GM Evgeny Gleizerov of Russia (7.5) drew with GM Praveen Thipsay (7.5) ; GM Abhijit Kunte (7.5) drew with IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (7.5) ; GM Saidali Iuldachev of Uzbekistan (7) lost to IM S P Sethuraman (8) ; IM RR Laxman (8) beat IM K Rathnakaran (7) ; GM Parimarjan Negi (7.5) beat IM G B Prakash (7) ; GM Alexander Areshchenko of Ukraine (7.5) beat IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma (6) ; GM Yuri Solodvnichenko of Ukraine (7.5) beat IM Boris Arkhangels of Russia (6.5) ; IM Himanshu Sharma (6.5) lost to GM Anuar Ismagambetov of Kazakhstan (8) ; FM S Nitin (7) drew with GM Safin Shukhrat of Uzbekistan (7), IM Prathamesh Mokal (7.5) beat Dibyendu Barua (6.5) ; Swapnil S Dhopade (7) drew with M R Lalith Babu (7)


banner gallery
Moscow 2017 GP
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed