Chennai Open 2010 Round 7 Print
Sunday, 31 January 2010 01:49
chennai_openM.R. Lalith Babu of Andra Pradesh joined the overnight leader GM Maxim Turov of Russia at the top with 6.5 points at the end of the seventh round of the LIC & ONGC sponsored Chennai Open 2010 Chess international tournament, organized by Sports Promotion Foundation at the Multipurpose Indoor Stadium, Chennai, today. Russian GM Dmitry Kryakvin, Uzbek GM Marat Dzhumaev, Slovakian GM Manik Mikulas, Ukraine GM Martyn Kravtsiv, IM VIkramaditya Kamble of Railways and Anwesh Upadyaya of Orissa are on the second spot with 6 points each.

Lalith Babu subdued former Asian Junior champion Deepan Chakkaravarthy of PSPB in a Grunfeld defence. Deepan lost a pawn on the 13th move and both exchanged the pieces in a fast pace. Both had a pawn at the centre each, but Lalith babu effectively controlled the back rank. Deepan resigned when his d- pawn was almost trapped on the 30th move. On the top board, Turov Maxim of Russia dropped half a point for the first time in the tournament to his compatriot Dmitry Kryakvin in a Ruy Lopez game lasting just 12 moves.

In another Ruy Lopez game followed by the Asian Junior champion Ashwin Jyaram of Tamil Nadu, his opponent Martyn Kravtsiv grabbed a knight in exchange for a seventh rank pawn and won easily. Orissa youngsters were on the rampage today, as Swayam Mishra outwitted GM Saidali Iuldachev of Uzbekistan in 75 moves. After exchanging the queens on the 57th move, Swayams was in a good position with connected pawns on the c- and d- files. His additional g- pawn threatened promotion with the support of the king and Saidali gave up the fight.

Anwesh played a swashbuckling game, offering sacrifices at will to demolish IM Bitoon Richard of Philippines in 28 moves of a Sicilian Keres attack. Former bronze medalist in the world under 10 championship M.R. Venkatesh of PSPB drew with GM Ziaur rahman of Bangladesh R. Siddharth, the erstwhile leader from Tamil Nadu also forced a draw against Rinat Jumabaev. Fenil Sha, the Gujarat youngster had a good day defeating Saptarshi Roy of Railways.

By R.Anantharam, International Arbiter & Media Incharge

More information on the official website

Round 7 standings:
1. GMTurov Maxim RUS 2584 - 6.5
2. IMLalith Babu M R IND 2457 - 6.5
3. GMDzhumaev Marat UZB 2515 - 6
4. GMManik Mikulas SVK 2435 - 6
5. Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2400 - 6
6. GMKravtsiv Martyn UKR 2545 - 6
7. IMKamble Vikramaditya IND 2364 - 6
8. GMKryakvin Dmitry RUS 2575 - 6
9. Siddharth R IND 2424 - 5.5
10. FMShyam Nikil P IND 2386 - 5.5
11. GMRahman Ziaur BAN 2548 - 5.5
12. IMRoy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2413 - 5.5
13. GMJumabayev Rinat KAZ 2536 - 5.5
14. IMVenkatesh M R IND 2432 - 5.5
15. Vaibhav Suri IND 2326 - 5.5
16. GMZubarev Alexander UKR 2544 - 5.5
17. Swapnil S  Dhopade IND 2429 - 5.5
18. GMSundararajan Kidambi IND 2526 - 5.5
19. GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J IND 2492 - 5.5
20. GMRamesh R B IND 2482 - 5.5
21. GMArun Prasad S IND 2567 - 5.5
22. Swayams Mishra IND 2340 - 5.5
23. IMSatyapragyan Swayangsu IND 2480 - 5.5
24. Fenil Shah IND 2201 - 5.5
25. Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2382 - 5.5 etc

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed