Dibeyandu Barua Chess Academy Champions Print
Friday, 26 February 2010 15:44
Gurgaon (26 Feb 10): Top seed and favourite Dibeyandu Barua Chess Academy comprise of Mary Ann Gomes, Saheli Dhar Barua, Kiran Manisha Mohanty and Swati Mohota clinched  the National Club Team Chess Championship for Women with perfect score of 8 points in the five team round robin league championship at DAV Public School here on Friday.

In the fourth round DBCA registered 4 - 0 victory over LIC to take their total to 8 match points. During the process DBCA beat Harayna, Bihar and LIC with an identical margin of 4 - 0 while they lost one game point against Tamilnadu to register a 3 - 1 victory. LIC and Tamilnadu with four match points in hand will fight it out tomorrow to decide the runner-up postion.

Meanwhile in the men's section, continuing their winning run, Air India posted another resounding victory over Railway Sports Promotion Board B team in the seventh round to take their tally to 14 match points and enjoys two point lead over defending champions Petroleum Sports Promotion Board in this nine round swiss format championship.

For Air India, Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi and International Master Satya Pragyan produced decisive results in their favour over C Praveen Kumar and Somak Palit respectively while Grandmaster Tejas Bakare and Rahul Shetty signed peace treaty against PDS Girinath and Suvrajit Saha. On the second table PSPB defeated West Bengal 3.5 - 0.5 with Sasikiran, Arun Prasad and Deepan Chakkravarthy posting comfortable wins while Kidambi satisfied with half point against Rupankar Nath.

On lower boards, Railway Sports Promotion Board A team drubbed Punjab 4 - 0 while Tata Consultancy Services produced another surprise result to hold Life Insurance Corporation of India 2 - 2. Host Haryana "A" suffered a huge defeat in the seventh round as they lost to Kerala 0 - 4.


Results Round 7 (Open, with match points):
Air India (14) beat Railway Sports Promotion Board "B" (10) 3 - 1
West Bengal (8) lost to Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (12) 0.5 - 3.5
Punjab (8) lost to Railway Sports Promotion Board "A" (10) 0 - 4
Tata Consultancy Services (8) drew with Life Insurance Corporation of India (8) 2 - 2
Tamilnadu (9) beat Uttarpradesh (7) 3 - 1
Haryana "A" (6) lost to Kerala (8) 0 - 4
Bihar "A" (8) beat Madhya Kshetra Shatranj Sangh "B" (6) 3.5 - 0.5
Bihar "B" (5) lost to All India Electricity Sports Control Board (8) 1 - 3
Delhi (6) drew with Haryana "B" (6) 2 - 2
Madhya Kshetra Shatranj Sangh "A" (5) lost to Services Sports Control Board (7) 1 - 3
Himachal Pradesh (6) beat Kamaksha HP (4) 2.5 - 1.5
HBTI (2) lost to All India Chess Federation for Blind (2) 0 - 4
Budhibal Kreeda Trust (6) got Bye

Results Round 4 (Women):
Life Insurance Corporation of India (4) lost to Dibeyandu Barua Chess Academy (8) 0 - 4
Tamilnadu (4) beat Haryana (0) 4 - 0
Bihar (0) rest day

Official website

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed