Philippine National Chess Championship Print
Saturday, 16 July 2011 22:06
The Philippines National Chess Championship - 4th Battle of the Grandmasters is starting today at the historic National Press Club (NPC) in Intramuros, Manila, and continues until 23rd July. 14 players compete in the Men's Division and 12 in the Women's Division. Both tournament will be conducted as round-robins. Visit for results and standings of the Men's and Women's Battle of Grandmasters.


National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) Chairman/President Prospero "Butch" Pichay Jr. (seated, left) and reigning three-time defending champion GM Wesley So (seated, right) make the ceremonial moves to formally open the National Championships 4th Battle of the Grandmasters at the historic National Press Club (NPC) in Magallanes Drive, Intramuros, Manila on Saturday.

Witnessing the ceremonial moves are (standing, left to right) GM Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr, Asia's First IM Rodolfo Tan Cardoso, GM Rogelio Barcenilla, Miguel Lopez, tournament director NCFP executive director GM Jayson Gonzales, Chief Arbiter IA Gene Poliarco, NCFP Mindanao coordinator James Infiesto, GM Roland Salvador, WIM Catherine Perena, WFM Cherry Ann Mejia and WIM Beverly Mendoza.

Also in photo are IM Richard Bitoon, GM John Paul Gomez, GM Joseph Sanchez, GM Darwin Laylo, GM Mark Paragua, Asia's First GM Eugene Torre and Ateneo junior standout IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia.

The National Chess Championship: 4th Battle of the Grandmasters is sponsored by Pilipinas Shell, Manila Pavilion Waterfront Hotel and Casino, Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), Philippine Olympic Committee, NPC, Remate and Hataw  (JSY Publication).


GM Wesley So is top seeded player and winner of the previous three editions of the Battle of the Grandmasters.

National Chess Federation of the Philippines

4th Battle of Grandmasters:
GM So Wesley 2658
GM Antonio Rogelio Jr 2565
GM Paragua Mark 2545
GM Sanchez Joseph 2534
GM Gomez John Paul 2529
GM Laylo Darwin 2528
GM Salvador Roland 2527
GM Barcenilla Rogelio 2518
IM Barbosa Oliver 2514
IM Bitoon Richard 2491
GM Torre Eugenio 2491
IM Nolte Rolando 2433
IM Garcia Jan Emmanuel 2404
IM Ranola Yves 2377

4th Battle of Grandmasters (Women's division):
WIM Perena Catherine 2104
Fronda Jan Jodilyn 2076
WIM Mendoza Beverly 2054
Docena Jedara 2049
WFM Jose Rulp Ylem 2024
WFM Mejia Cherry Ann 1949
Frayna Janelle Mae 1875
Palomo Jenny Rose 1875
Acedo Rowelyn Joy 0
Mendoza Shania Mae 0
Revita Samantha Glo 0
San Diego Marie Antoinette 0

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed