21st World Senior Chess Championships Starting Print
Monday, 14 November 2011 20:53
World-Senior-Rijeka-300x150The 21st World Senior Chess Championships will be held in Opatija, Croatia, from November 14, 2011 (arrival of the participants) until November 27, 2011 (day of departure). The Championship is organized by the Chess club “Rijeka” in agreement with Croatian Chess Federation, under the auspices of the Mountain-litoral County, the City of Rijeka and the City of Opatija.

The 21st World Senior Chess Championship for men and women is open to all players representing the FIDE Chess Federations, regardless of their title or rating, providing that the male tournament participants were born in 1951 or before, and that the female tournament participants were born in 1961 or before. There is no limit to the number of participants per federation.

The championship will be based on 11 rounds of Swiss system in accordance with the FIDE Tournament Rules and FIDE Rules of Chess.

The playing time will be 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.

The Article 6.6. of the Rules of Chess will be applied – each player being late at the beginning of his match will loose the game.

The women play their own tournament to determine the Women World Senior Champion 2011.

WGM Tamar Khmiadashvili (four times World Senior Champion) and GM Anatoly Vaisser are coming back to defend their last year titles. The 2009 Champions GM Miso Cebalo and GM Nona Gaprindashvili (former World Champion and twice World Senior Champion), and reigning European Senior Champion GM Mihai Suba will also compete.

The total prize fund amounts to 15.000,00 euro, of which 12.000,00 will be paid to the male players, while 3.000,00 euro will be reserved for female players.

The prizes for the male tournament will be handed over as follows:
1. prize 2.100,00 €, trophy and gold medal
2. prize 1.700,00 € and silver medal
3. prize 1.500,00 € and bronze medal
4. prize 1.200,00 €
5. prize 1.000,00 €
6. prize 900,00 €
7. prize 800,00 €
8. prize 700,00 €
9. prize 600,00 €
10. prize 500,00 €
11. prize 400,00 €
12. prize 300,00 €
13. prize 200,00 €
14. prize 100,00 €

The prizes for the female tournament will be handed over as follows:
1. prize 800,00 €, trophy and gold medal
2. prize 700,00 € and silver medal
3. prize 600,00 € and gold medal
4. prize 400,00 €
5. prize 300,00 €
6. prize 200,00 €

The entire prize fund in the amount of 15.000,00 € will be paid by the Organiser to FIDE prior to the end of the championship. FIDE will effect the payment of prizes to the players. The players who will be awarded the prizes are obliged to contact the Organiser and provide their bank account details in order to receive payment by FIDE.

Official website

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed