Chennai Open R3 Print
Thursday, 05 January 2012 15:54
13-year old FIDE Master Diptayan Ghosh stunned Grandmaster Barbosa Oliver of Philippines in the third round of the SDAT – RMK 4th Chennai Open 2012 International Grandmaster Chess Tournament, at Multipurpose Indoor Stadium, Periamet, Chennai here today.

Top seed Grandmaster Aleksandrov Aleksej shared the lead with 3.0 points along with 16 players including Grandmasters Oleksienko Mikhailo (Ukraine), S P Sethuraman, Neelotpal Das (both India), John Paul Gomez (Philippines), Hoang Thanh Trang (Hungary) and International Masters M R Venkatesh, M S Thejkumar, Himanshu Sharma (all India) among others.

Grandmaster Aleksandrov Aleksej faced the Queen’s Indian defence employed by Swayams Mishra in the top board. Exerting pressure early in the game, Aleksandrov exhibited superior middle game play forcing a zugzwang on Mishra. Facing a drowning position and a heavy material loss, Mishra resigned on the 39th move.

In the upset of the day, Bengal lad Diptayan Ghosh put it across Grandmaster Oliver Barbosa of the Philippines in a dynamic Slav game. Grabbing the initiative, after the end of the theoretical debate, Diptayan went for an all out attack on the kingside. Sacrificing a knight on the 21st move, the Indian teenager ripped open Barbosa’s kingside and clinched the issue with a flurry of attack. Facing checkmate, the Philippino gave up after 34 moves.

Results (Round 3) (Indians unless specified):

Aleksandrov Aleksej (Belarus) 3 bt Swayams Mishra (2), T U Navin Kanna (2.5) drew with Kravtsiv Martyn (Ukraine) 2.5, Barbosa Oliver (Philippines) 2 lost to Ghosh Diptayan (3) Murali Krishnan B T (2) lost to  Oleksienko Mikhailo (Ukraine) 3, Ramnath Bhuvanesh R (2) lost to Sethuraman S P (3), Rahman Ziaur (Bangladesh) 2.5 drew with Konguvel Ponnuswamy 2.5, Ankit R  Rajpara (2.5) drew with Paragua Mark (Philippines) 2.5, Prakash G B (2) lost to Gomez John Paul (Philippines) 3, Venkatesh M R (3) bt Praveen Kumar C (2), Rajesh V A V (2.5) drew with Deepan Chakkravarthy J (2.5), Yu Ruiyuan (China) 3 bt Phoobalan P (2), Sagar Shah (2) lost to Dzhumaev Marat (Uzbekistan) 3, Ma Qun (China) 2.5 drew with Kunal M (2.5), Shashikant Kutwal (3) bt Ashwin Jayaram (2), Neelotpal Das (3) bt Joshi G B (2), Ravi Teja S (2.5) drew with Barua Dibyendu (2.5), Thejkumar M  S (3) bt Gokhale Chandrashekhar (2), Hemant Sharma (2) lost to Hoang Thanh Trang (Hungary) 3, Ramnathan Balasubramaniam (2.5) drew with Vakhidov Jahongir (Uzbekistan) 2.5, Anilkumar O T (2) lost to Himanshu Sharma (2).

R R Vasudevan
Press Officer

Defending champion GM Kravtsiv Martyn (Ukraine) making his move against T U Navin Kanna (India)
Defending champion GM Kravtsiv Martyn (Ukraine) making his move against T U Navin Kanna (India)

banner gallery
Moscow 2017 GP
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed