GM Jobava Wins Dubai International Blitz Print
Saturday, 21 April 2012 07:40

Top seed GM Baadur Jobava of Georgia won the Dubai International Blitz Tournament on 20th April at the Dubai Chess Club in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. He beat six opponents and drew with three others to finish alone with 7-1/2 points out of 9 rounds.

GM Baadur Jobava displays his winner's Cup. From left are Abdul Karim Hassan Marzoughi, Technical Manager of Dubai Chess Club, Youssif Ahmed Ali, Vice President of the Qatar Chess Federation and Vice President of the Arab Chess Federation, Jobava and Mohamed Al Husseini, Coordinator of the Dubai Chess Club. (Photo by Mehrdad Pahlavenzadeh)

Four players shared 2nd to 5th place. Tied with 7 points each were GMs Mikheil Mchedlishvili of Georgia, Vladimir Baklan and Alexander Kovchan of Ukraine, and Avetik Grigoryan of Armenia.


A strong group of 84 players from 21 countries took part in the one-day competition including 21 Grandmasters and 9 International Masters. At stake was a total of $5,000 in cash prizes.

On his way to winning the top prize of $1,000 Jobava, rated 2706, beat GMs Gevorg Harutjunyan of Armenia, David Arutunian and Levan Pantsulaia of Georgia and IM Fouad El Taher of Egypt. Jobava drew with GM Ehsan Ghaem Maghami of Iran, Alexander Kovchan of Ukraine and coasted to a draw in the last round with compatriot GM Mikheil Mchedlishvili.

Visit for round by round results and final standings.

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds
Rk.   Name FED Rtg Pts. 
1 GM Jobava Baadur  GEO 2706 7.5
2 GM Mchedlishvili Mikheil  GEO 2626 7
GM Baklan Vladimir  UKR 2612 7
GM Grigoryan Avetik  ARM 2600 7
GM Kovchan Alexander  UKR 2598 7
6 GM Andriasian Zaven  ARM 2616 6.5
GM Hovhannisyan Robert  ARM 2600 6.5
IM El Taher Fouad  EGY 2483 6.5
Baghdasaryan Vahe  ARM 2406 6.5
10 GM Volkov Sergey  RUS 2623 6.5
11 GM Miezis Normunds  LAT 2557 6
GM Harutjunyan Gevorg  ARM 2455 6
Dilanyan Grigor  ARM 2276 6
14 GM Petrosian Tigran L ARM 2643 6
GM Salem A R  Saleh UAE 2522 6
IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2343 6
17 GM Pantsulaia Levan  GEO 2595 5.5
GM Arutinian David  GEO 2553 5.5
IM Grigoryan Karen H  ARM 2510 5.5
IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi  IND 2405 5.5
21 GM Ganguly Surya Shekhar  IND 2633 5.5
GM Ghaem Maghami Ehsan  IRI 2581 5.5
GM Kayumov Sergey  UZB 2505 5.5
Hilwani Talal  SYR 2277 5.5
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed