India National Challengers Chess Championship - Akash maintains sole lead Print
Thursday, 24 May 2012 14:56
Tirupathi (24 May 12):- Overnight sole leader G Akash maintained his lead with eight points after signing the peace treaty with Fide Master Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal in the ninth round of the 50th National Challengers Chess Championship here on Thursday.

Playing safe in King’s Indian defence game, Akash and Ghosh agreed to split the point after 28 moves while World Under-18 bronze medalist Debashis Das cut down the lead of Akash to half point after registering a comfortable win against CRG Krishna of Andhra Pradesh in the ninth round battle.

This crucial victory enabled Das to occupy the sole second spot with seven and half points while Ghosh is at lone third spot with seven points as only two out of top ten boards produced decisive results.

The bad run of defending champion Vikramaditya Kulkarni in the championship continued as he lost his ninth round match against Abhishek Kelkar of Maharashtra while in a surprising result, Andhra Pradesh youngster K Praneeth Surya shocked former national champion International Master P Konguvel of PSPB.



Important Results Round 9:- FM Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal (7) drew with G Akash of Tamilnadu (8); IM Debashis Das of Odisha (7.5) beat CRG Krishna of Andhra Pradesh (6.5); Shashikant Kutwal of Railways (6.5) drew with IM Saptarshi Roy of Railways (6.5); IM Dinesh Sharma of LIC (6.5) drew with IM Atanu Lahiri of LIC (6.5); Sohan Phadke of Maharashtra (6.5) drew with N Sanjay of Karnataka (6.5); IM Murali Krishnan B T of Railways (6.5) drew with IM Sudhakar Babu of Indian Bank (6.5); IM Singh D P of Railways (6) drew with IM S Satyapragyan of Air India (6); Arun Karthik of Tamilnadu (6) drew with IM Karthikeyan P of PSPB (6); IM Swayams Mishra of Odisha (5.5) lost to S Ravi Teja of Andhra Pradesh (6.5); IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury of Railways (6) drew with Arvind Shastry of Karnataka (6); Himal Gusain of Chandigarh (5.5) lost to IM Suvrajit Saha of Railways (6.5); IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh of Tamilnadu (6) drew with IM Varugeese Koshy of PSPB (6); S L Narayanan of Kerala (6) drew with IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Railways (6); IM Praveen Kumar C of Railways (6.5) beat Atul Dahale of Maharahstra (5.5); Praveen Prasad of Andhra Pradesh (5.5) lost to Bitan Banerjee of West Bengal (6.5); Karthikeyan Murali of Tamilnadu (6) drew with Utkal Ranjan Sahoo of Odisha (6); Vikramjit Singh of Railways (6) drew with IM Rahul Sangma of Railways (6); Sidhant Mohapatra of Odisha (6.5) beat IM Prakash G B of Indian Bank (5.5); Akash Thakur of Railways (5.5) lost to Rajib Dhar of Assam (6.5); Vignesh N R of Tamilnadu (5.5) lost to Ram S Krishnan of Tamilnadu (6.5); Anurag Mhamal of Goa (5.5) lost to Abhilash Reddy M L of Andhra Pradesh (6.5); K Praneeth Surya of Andhra Pradesh (6.5) beat IM P Konguvel of PSPB (5); IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni of Railways (5) lost to Abhishek Kelkar of Maharashtra (6); FM Rengarajan Srinivasan of LIC (5) lost to FM Rajesh VAV of Tamilnadu (6); IM PDS Girinath of Railways (5.5) drew with Rishi Sardana of Delhi (5.5).

For Live Games :

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed