India National Challengers Chess Championship - Abhilash Reddy shocks Chowdhury Print
Friday, 25 May 2012 23:14
Tirupathi (25 May 12) :- Overnight sole leader G Akash of Tamilnadu escaped from the claws defeat against Saptarshi Roy of Railways in the tenth to maintain his sole in the ongoing 50th National Challengers Championship here on Saturday.

Playing with black pieces in unusual lines in Queen Pawn opening, the chances of Akash looked grim in the middle game but a costly blunder towards the end from his International Master rival helped him to secure half point from this outing to maintain the slender half point lead over International Master Debashis Das, who occupying the lone second spot with eight points after signing the truce with Suvrajit Saha of Railways in the tenth round.

Eyeing for the qualification mark of top thirty for the National Premier, most of the top boards in the tenth round ended without decisive results.


Fide Master Diptayan Ghosh signed the peace with state mate Bitan Banerjee is occupying the joint third spot along with Andhra Pradesh youngster M L Abhilash Reddy, who caused a flutter in the tenth round by shocking seventh seed International Master Saptarshi Roy Chouwdhury in a well fought game arrived out of Old Indian Defence.  

Three more rounds remaining in this championship and top thirty will qualify for the forthcoming National Premier Chess Championship which is scheduled to be held at West Bengal in the month of October.

Important Results Round 10 :- IM Saptarshi Roy of Railways (7) drew with G Akash of Tamilnadu (8.5); IM Suvrajit Saha of Railways (7) drew with IM Debashis Das of Odisha (8); Bitan Banerjee of West Bengal (7) drew with FM Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal (7.5); Ram S Krishnan of Tamilnadu (7) drew with IM Dinesh Sharma of LIC (7); N Sanjay of Karnataka (7) drew with Sidhant Mohapatra of Odisha (7); IM Sudhakar Babu of Indian Bank (7) drew with IM Praveen Kumar C of Railways (7); Ravi Teja S of Andhra Pradesh (7) drew with IM Murali Krishnan B T of Railways (7); IM Atanu Lahiri of LIC (7) drew with Sohan Phadke of Maharashtra (7); CRG Krishna of Andhra Pradesh (7) drew with K Praneeth Surya of Andhra Pradesh (7); Rajib Dhar of Assam (7) drew with Shashikant Kutwal of Railways (7); Abhilash Reddy M L of Andhra Pradesh (7.5) beat IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury of Railways (6); IM S Satyapragyan of Air India (7) beat IM Anup Deshmukh of LIC (6); IM Karthikeyan P of PSPB (7) beat FM Sayantan Das of West Bengal (6); FM Rajesh VAV of Tamilnadu (7) beat Vikramjit Singh of Railways (6); IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Railways (7) beat IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh of Tamilnadu (6); IM Koshy Varugeese of PSPB (6.5) drew with S L Narayanan of Kerala (6.5); IM Rahul Shetty of Air India (7) beat Karthikeyan Murali of Tamilnadu (6); IM Rahul Sangma of Railways (6.5) drew with IM Chandrashekhar Gokhale of Air India (6.5); Syed Anwar Shazuli of Railways (6.5) drew with Pratik Patil of Maharashtra (6.5); Utkal Ranjan Sahoo of Odisha (6) lost to IM Singh D P of Railways (7); Abhishek Kelkar of Maharashtra (6) lost to Arun Karthik of Tamilnadu (7); Arvind Shastry of Karnataka (7) beat Yohan J of Kerala (6); Puneet Jaiswal of Delhi (5.5) lost to IM Swayams Mishra of Odisha (6.5); Abhimanyu Puranik of Maharashtra (5.5) lost to IM Girinath PDS of Railways (6.5); IM Prakash G B of Indian Bank (6) drew with Santu Mondal of West Bengal (6).

For Live Games :

banner gallery
Moscow 2017 GP
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed