India National Challengers Chess Championship R11 - Four share lead Print
Saturday, 26 May 2012 17:39
Tirupathi (26 May 12):-  With just two rounds remaining, the 50th National Challengers Chess Championship heading for an exciting finish as Andhra Pradesh youngster Abhilash Reddy produced another emphatic victory to stop the unbeaten run of overnight sole leader G Akash of Tamilnadu in the eleventh round on Saturday.

Playing white side of Yugoslav attack, Akash made a crucial mistake on 29th move to give the material edge to his rival and snatching the opportunity, Reddy exerted pressure to his opponent territory to garner full points after 73 moves.

This crucial result made the championship wide open as four players including Akash and Reddy are now sharing the pole position with eight and half points.


Diptayan Ghosh defeated fourth seed International Master P Karthikeyan of PSPB to give company to the leaders along with third seed Debashis Das of Odisha, who settled for half point against second seed S Satyapragyan of Air India in the eleventh round battle.

A pack of 29 players are in second spot with seven and half points and top thirty from this event will qualify for the National Premier Chess Championship.

Important Results Round 11 :-  G Akash of Tamilnadu (8.5) lost to Abhilash Reddy M L of Andhra Pradesh (8.5); IM Debashis Das of Odisha (8.5) drew with IM S Satyapragyan of Odisha (7.5); FM Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal (8.5) beat IM Karthikeyan P of PSPB (7); Ram S Krishnan of Tamilnadu (7.5) drew with IM Saptarshi Roy of Railways (7.5); IM Suvrajit Saha of Railways (7.5) v IM Sudhakar Babu of Indian Bank (7.5); IM Singh D P of Railways (7.5) drew with FM Rajesh VAV of Tamilnadu (7.5); IM Dinesh Sharma of LIC (7) v S Ravi Teja of Andhra Pradesh (7); Arun Karthik R of Tamilnadu (7.5) drew with Sanjay N of Karnataka (7.5); IM Praveen Kumar C of Railways (7.5) drew with IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam of Railways (7.5); Sohan Phadke of Maharahstra (7.5) drew with Bitan Banerjee of West Bengal (7.5); IM Murali Krishnan B T of Railways (7.5) drew with Aravind Shastry of Karnataka (7.5); K Praneeth Surya of Andhra Pradesh (7.5) drew with IM Atanu Lahiri of LIC (7.5); Sidhant Mohapatra of Odisha (7.5) drew with CRG Krishna of Andhra Pradesh (7.5); Shashikant Kutwal of Railways (7.5) drew with IM Rahul Shetty of Air India (7.5); IM Swayams Mishra of Odisha (7.5) beat Rajib Dhar of Assam (7); Narayanan S L of Kerala (7) drew with Prince Bajaj of Delhi (7); IM Girinath PDS of Railways (7) drew with IM Koshy Varugeese of PSPB (7); Pratik Patil of Maharashtra (7.5) beat IM Rahul Sangma of Railways (6.5); Sagar Shah of Maharashtra (7.5) beat Chandrashekhar Gokhale of Air India (6.5); Anurag Mhamal of Goa (7.5) beat Matta Vinay Kumar of Andhra Pradesh (6.5); Chakravarti YVK of Andhra Pradesh (6.5) lost to Syed Anwar Shazuli of Railways (7.5); Thanki Hemal Karsanji of Gujarat (6.5) lost to Arindam Mukherjee of Railways (7.5); IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni of Railwyas (6) lost to Utkal Ranjan Sahoo of Odisha (7); IM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury of Railways (7) beat Niranjan Navalgund of Tamilnadu (6); FM Rengarajan Srinivasan of LIC (6.5) drew with IM P Konguvel of PSPB (6.5).

For Live Games :


banner gallery
Moscow 2017 GP
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed