Mikhail Tal Memorial 2012 Print
Tuesday, 05 June 2012 00:29
The 7th Mikhail Tal Memorial will take place from 7th to 19th June, 2012, in Moscow, Russia. The opening ceremony will be held on 7th June, at 18.00, in the playing venue at Pashkov House, st. Vozdvizhenka 3/5.

Magnus Carlsen, Vladimir Kramnik, Levon Aronian, Teimour Radjabov, Hikaru Nakamura, Fabiano Caruana, Alexander Morozevich, Alexander Grischuk, Evgeny Tomashevsky and winner of the voting contest Luke McShane participate in the round robin tournament.

The Tal Memorial is the first major competition in the chess calendar after the World Championship match and the first test for the world's leading grandmasters before the Candidates Tournament.

The organizers have come up with a unique idea to replace the usual drawing of lots. The participants will play a blitz tournament, with a separate prize fund, and the main tournament starting numbers will be assigned according to the blitz standings.

The previous edition was held in November 2011, when Magnus Carlsen and Levon Aronian shared the first place with 5.5/9 points each. Carlsen took the trophy on better tie-break.

Mikhail Tal Memorial, winners of the previous editions:
2006 – Levon Aronian, Peter Leko, Ruslan Ponomariov – 5½ /9
2007 – Vladimir Kramnik 6½ /9
2008 – Vassily Ivanchuk 6 /9
2009 – Vladimir Kramnik 6½ /9
2010 – Levon Aronian, Sergey Karjakin, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov – 5½ /9
2011 - Magnus Carlsen and Levon Aronian - 5½ /9


arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed