Mumbai Mayor's Cup - Round 4 Print
Saturday, 09 June 2012 11:46
Mumbai_ChessIt was a day of shocks for the foreign Grandmasters in action at the Chetana College where the fourth round of the Mumbai Mayor’s Cup-International Chess tournament conducted by the Venus Chess Academy and co-sponsored by LIC of India was played. Top seed GM Aleksej Alexandrov of Belarus was all but lost against Praveen Kumar but the youngster failed to get his act together and allowed him to wriggle out with a draw.

Eighth seed GM Mark Paragua of Philippines wasn’t so lucky and was shocked by T Purushothaman while 15th seed GM Evgeny Podolchenko was stunned by C Natarajan. Sixth seed Abhijit Kunte was held to a draw by Ram S Krishnan, 10thseed Kirill Stupak also split point with Rakesh Kulkarni while Mithil Ajgaonkar held GM Raset Ziatdinov. Interestingly it were the untitled and lesser rated players who stole the show today.

10 players have emerged joint leaders with B Adhiban, Debashis Das, C Natarajan, T Purushotaman and Rajesh V.A.V. being the Indians who have scored four points. 17 players follow half a point behind and Sunday promises to dish out exciting fare with two rounds scheduled.

On the top board, Alexandrov enjoyed an edge in the Catalan opening but the Belarussian was strangely erratic in the middle-game and allowed a clear cut edge to Praveen Kumar. Alexandrov’s King was pulled out of his sheltered castle and his opponent’s queen and rook threatened to catch the King in a checkmating net. However Praveen Kumar also missed many winning continuations and Alexandrov was forced to give up his queen for a rook and bishop. On the 53rd turn Black again missed a winning continuation and the game fizzled into a draw after 63 moves.

In a Modern Defence gaem Purushothaman needed 51 moves to defeat Mark Paraguay while the encounter between C Natarajan and Podolchenko lasted 35 moves of a Trompowsky Opening.

Important Results of Round 4:
IM Praveen Kumar (3.5) drew GM Aleksej Alexandrov (3.5); GM Andrei Deviatkin (4) bt IM Anita Gara (3); M Karthikeyan (3) lost  to GM Nikolai Chadaev (4); GM B Adhiban (4) bt C R Krishna (3); GM Abhijit Kunte (3.5) drew Ram S Krishnan (3.5); GM Mark Paragua (3) lost to T Purushothaman (4); Saravana Krishnan (3) lost to GM Ziaur Rahman (4); GM Kirill Stupak (3.5) drew Rakesh Kulkarni (3.5); FM Debaraj Chatterjee (3) lost to GM John Paul Gomez (4); Sagar Shah (3.5) drew Vaibhav Suri (3.5); Rajesh V (4) bt Vinoth Kumar (3); Mithil Ajgaonkar (3.5) drew GM Raset Ziatdinov (3.5); GM Hoang Thanh Trang (4) bt Nimmy A G (3)

IM Praveen Kumar (2342) VS Aleksej Aleksandrov (2606)
1.d4 Nf6 2.c4 e6 3.g3 d5 4.Nf3 dxc4 5.Bg2 a6 6.0–0 Nc6 7.e3 Nd5 8.Qe2 b5 9.Bd2 Be7 10.b3 cxb3 11.axb3 Bb7 12.Rc1 0–0 13.Be1 Re8 14.Nbd2 Nb8 15.Ne5 Ra7 16.Nd3 Nd7 17.Ne4 Qa8 18.f4 a5 19.Nec5 Nxc5 20.Nxc5 Bc6 21.Nd3 b4 22.Ne5 Bb7 23.Bd2 Rc8 24.Bh3 g6 25.e4 Nc3 26.Bxc3 bxc3 27.f5 Bxe4 28.fxe6 f6 29.Nd7 Qd5 30.Qc4 Qh5 31.Bg2 Bxg2 32.Kxg2 Rb7 33.Re1 Rb4 34.Qxc3 Qd5+ 35.Kh3 Kg7 36.Ra4 h5 37.Qe3 Rxb3 38.Qe4 Qb5 39.Ra2 a4 40.Rf2 f5 41.Qf4 h4 42.Re5 Qc4 43.Rxf5 Qxe6 44.Qg4 Re3 45.Ne5 Rxe5 46.dxe5 Rh8 47.Rf7+ Qxf7 48.Rxf7+ Kxf7 49.e6+ Kg7 50.Qd4+ Kg8 51.Qxa4 hxg3+ 52.Kxg3 Bd6+ 53.Kg4 Rxh2 54.Kg5 Rg2+ 55.Kf6 Rf2+ 56.Kxg6 Rg2+ 57.Kf6 Rf2+ 58.Kg5 Rg2+ 59.Kh4 Rh2+ 60.Kg4 Rg2+ 61.Kf3 Rg7 62.Qe8+ Kh7 63.Qh5+ draw

C Natarajan (2229) VS GM Evgeny Podolchenko (2464)
1.d4 Nf6 2.Nf3 e6 3.Bg5 h6 4.Bxf6 Qxf6 5.e4 d6 6.Nc3 g5 7.h3 Bd7 8.e5 Qe7 9.Qd2 Bg7 10.exd6 Qxd6 11.Ne4 Qb6 12.c3 Nc6 13.Qc2 0–0–0 14.Ned2 Qa5 15.Bc4 Ne7 16.b4 Ba4 17.Qb2 Qb6 18.Qa3 Bc6 19.Be2 Bxf3 20.Bxf3 Nd5 21.0–0 Kb8 22.b5 Qd6 23.Qb3 h5 24.Ne4 Qf4 25.Nc5 g4 26.Bxd5 exd5 27.g3 Qf3 28.h4 Bh6 29.Qc2 Rhe8 30.Rae1 Kc8 31.Nd3 Qf5 32.Qd1 Re4 33.Nc5 Ree8 34.Qa4 Rxe1 35.Qxa7 1-0

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed