2nd Lev Polugaevsky Memorial Print
Saturday, 14 July 2012 13:10
The 2nd Lev Polugaevsky Memorial was held from 5th to 13th July in the Russian city Samara as a 9-round Swiss competition. 102 players competed.

GM Alexei Fedorov from Belarus, one of the few foreigners in the field, started furiously with six consecutive wins but then he slowed down and took only half a point from the remaining three games.

The final round was relatively peaceful with a bunch of draws on the top tables. Only the top seeded GM Denis Khismatullin won his game.

Eventually, IM Aleksey Goganov, GM Igor Kovalenko and GM Nikolai Kabanov shared the first place with 7 points each. Goganov takes the winner’s trophy on best additional criteria.


The total prize fund is 11.000 EUR and the tournament is a qualifier for the 2012 Russian Cup.

The 1st Polugaevsky Memorial was held in 2011 with the participation of 122 players. GM Semen Dvoirys from Chelyabinsk was the sole winner with 7.5 points.

Tournament website

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed