World Senior Chess Championships 2012 in Kamena Vourla, Greece Print
Thursday, 13 September 2012 02:04
The World Senior Chess Championships 2012 will be held in the 5-star Galini Wellness Spa & Resort Hotel in Kamena Vourla, Greece from 12 November (arrivals) to 25 November (departures). The games will take place in the Congress Center of Galini Wellness Spa & Resort Hotel, the largest and most complete spa resort in Greece!

Galini Wellness Spa is internationally renowned for its thermal springs and their therapeutic qualities, combining the freshness of the mountain and the breeze of the sea.

Close to Athens (190 km to the north), it nestles in a valley of eucalyptus trees, an ideal starting point for extensive walking and tours, for trips to the nearby ski center of Parnassos mountain or for excursions to the Meteora monasteries, Delphi, Thermopiles and many other points of archeological interest.

World Senior 2012

The total prize fund of the World Senior Championship is 15.000 euros and the event is open to all players representing FIDE national chess federations, regardless of their title or rating, provided that the men participants are born in 1952 or before and that the women participants are born in 1962 or before.

Two months before the start of the games, the number of participants is already rising. Among the players will be the following names:

GM Vaisser Anatoly FRA 2556
GM Sveshnikov Evgeny LAT 2530
GM Timoscenko Gennadij SVK 2490
GM Jansa Vlastimil CZE 2451
GM Kupreichik Viktor BLR 2434
GM Cebalo Miso CRO 2424
IM Pritchett Craig SCO 2348
FM Sorensen Bent DEN 2305
FM Kunz Konstantin GER 2303
IM Afek Yochanan ISR 2301
Malmdin Nils Ake SWE 2299
Gutkin Boris ISR 2289
IM Piasetski Leon CAN 2285
FM Giulian Philip SCO 2269
Kolbak Jens DEN 2251
IM Lederman Leon ISR 2239
FM Hohler Peter SUI 2201
Kierzek Matthias GER 2191
IM Skalkotas Nikolaos GRE 2185
Agzamov Valeriy UZB 2183
FM Valenti Giuseppe ITA 2180
Dekan Hans GER 2156
Marcio Netto Baeta BRA 2147
FM Tsomis Dimitris GRE 2136
Meizlin Jaacov ISR 2122
White Alastair SCO 2096
Blaushtain Boris ISR 2092
Balaskas Panayotis GRE 2090
Nielsen Poul Erik DEN 2079
Staub Gerhard GER 2074
Fernando de Andres Gonalons ESP 2072
Doubleday William CAN 2071
Kaloskambis Mihail GRE 2053
Borwell Alan SCO 2038
McKerracher Douglas SCO 2034
Guaglianone Mario ITA 2027
Patola Eeri FIN 1947
Maman Emanuel ISR 1932
Voon Richard AUS 1905
Haupt Joachim GER 1864
Parham Bernard USA 1859
Rave Avraham ISR 1838
Scholtyssek Verner GER 1828
Filzmaier Bruno AUT 1826
Gunter Andreas AUT 1826
Juhani Pitkänen FIN 1763
Rahmany Behrouz IRI 1736
Lachat Martin SUI 1683
Altykenov Toleugali KAZ 1589
Stronbousch Frank GER
Maheux Pierre CAN

GM Gaprindashvili Nona GE0 2356
WIM Fomina Tatyana EST 2224
WGM Khmiadashvili Tamar GEO 2133
WIM Melashvili Nino GEO 2168
WFM Kierzek Mira FYROM 2018
Tsynkangova Enni UZB 1885

It is also interesting to note that IM Leon Piasetski has participated back in 1971 in the World Junior Championship in Greece and now, 41 years later, he plays in the World Senior Championship again in Greece!

The deadline for registrations is Monday 1 October 2012. More details can be found in the official website or by contacting IO Nikos Kalesis: tel. (+30) 6938326161, fax: (+30) 2641500112 or by email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

banner gallery
banner arrears
banner comm events
banner comm rules2
banner comm pairings
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed