Rd 9 - Chennai Super Kings 5th International GM chess tournament 2013 Print
Wednesday, 23 January 2013 09:26


Wan Yunguo (China) playing Aleksandrov Aleksej (Belarus)

Teske Henrik leads, Narayanan achieves final IM Norm

14-year-old S L Narayanan became India's latest International Master as he held Chinese GM Lu Shanglei to a draw in the ninth round in the Chennai Super Kings 5th International Grandmaster chess tournament 2013 at Media Hall, Nehru Stadium, Chennai here today. The draw fetched Narayanan his third and final International Master Norm. His first two IM Norms also came in Chennai during the World Junior Championships 2011 and the Commonwealth Championships 2012 respectively. In addition to Narayanan, Wan Yunguo of China also made his 9 game International Master Norm by holding GM Aleksandrov Aleksej of Belarus in the top board.

Earlier, GM Henrik Teske of Germany moved in as the sole leader defeating Uzbek GM Marat Dzhumaev with black pieces. The win places Henrik Teske on top of the table with 7.5 points. Teske is closely followed at 7.0 points by GMs Aleksandrov Aleksej (Belarus), Deviatkin Andrei (Russia), Kayumov Dmitry (Uzbekistan), Adhiban Baskaran, M R Lalith Babu (both India), Niaz Murshed (Bangladesh), Lu Shanglei (China), IMs Swapnil S Dhopade (India), Kuderinov Kirill (Kazakhstan) along with S L Narayanan (India) and Wan Yunguo (China).

With his present performance Narayanan is gaining 15 ELO rating points that would taking him past his present rating of 2397 to beyond the FIDE title requirement of 2400 rating points. Narayanan is coached by International Master Varugheese Koshy and is bound to go far.

The following three players are required to win their next round to achieve their respective Norms viz., Wan Yunguo (China) and Swapnil S Dhopade (India) for GM Norm and R Vaishali (India) for WIM Norm.

Two more rounds remain to be played in this Chennai Super Kings sponsored mega event that concludes on 23rd Jan, 2013.

GM Shanglei Lu - S L Narayanan

1.e4 c6 2.Nc3 d5 3.Nf3 Bg4 4.h3 Bxf3 5.Qxf3 e6 6.d4 dxe4 7.Qxe4 Nf6 8.Qh4 Nbd7 9.Bd3 Bd6 10.Ne4 Nxe4 11.Qxe4 Nf6 12.Qf3 Qa5 13.c3 Qd5 14.Be2 Qxf3 15.Bxf3 O-O-O 16.Bd2 e5 17.dxe5 Bxe5 18.O-O-O Bc7 19.g4 Nd5 20.Kc2 Rhe8 21.c4 Nf4 22.Bxf4 Bxf4 23.Rxd8 Rxd8 24.Rd1 Rxd1 25.Kxd1 Kd7 26.b3 1/2-1/2

GM Dzhumaev Marat - GM Henrik Teske

1.e4 e5 2.d4 exd4 3.Nf3 Bb4 4.c3 dxc3 5.Nxc3 Nf6 6.Bc4 O-O 7.O-O Bxc3 8.bxc3 Nxe4 9.Re1 Nf6 10.Bg5 d6 11.Qd4 h6 12.Bxh6 gxh6 13.Qf4 Nh7 14.Qxh6 Qf6 15.Qh5 Qf5 16.Qh6 d5 17.Bb3 Nc6 18.Re3 Qf6 19.Qh5 Bf5 20.Nh4 Bg6 21.Rg3 Kh8 22.Rxg6 fxg6 23.Nxg6 Kg7 24.Nxf8 Rxf8 25.Rf1 Qf5 26.Qe2 Nf6 27.Qb5 Nd8 28.Qc5 Ne6 29.Qxa7 b6 30.h3 Qe5 31.Qa3 Nf4 32.Bd1 Qg5 33.g3 Nxh3 34.Kg2 Ne4 35.c4 Nf4 36.Kg1 dxc4 37.Re1 Nh3 38.Kg2 Rxf2 39.Kxh3 Qh6 40.Kg4 Nf6 0-1

Round 9 Results (Indians unless specified)

Wan Yunguo (Chn) 7 drew with Aleksandrov Aleksej (Blr) 7, Swapnil S Dhopade 7 drew with Adhiban Baskaran 7, M R Lalith Babu 7 drew with Niaz Murshed (Ban) 7, Lu Shanglei (Chn) 7 drew with S L Narayanan 7, Marat Dzhumaev (Uzb) 6 lost to Henrik Teske (Ger) 7.5, Deviatkin Andrei (Rus) 7 bt S Nitin 6, Ramnath Bhuvnesh 6.5 drew with Ziaur Rahman (Ban) 6.5, C Praveen Kumar 6 lost to Kuderinov Kirill (Kaz) 7, Harsha Bharathakoti 6 lost to Kayumov Dmitry (Uzb) 7, P Shyam Nikil 6.5 drew with Aravindh Chithambaram 6.5, Czebe Attila (Hun) 6.5 bt B S Shivananda 6, Jayakumar Adarsh (USA) 5.5 lost to Rakesh Kumar Jena 6.5, N Krishna Teja 5.5 drew with Raset Ziatdinov (USA) 5.5


IM Elect S L Narayanan who made his 3rd & final IM Norm


Tournament leader GM Henrik Teske (Germany)


Wan Yunguo (China) achieves 9 game IM Norm
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed