Prize Distribution Ceremony of the 13th Standard Chartered School Chess Tournament 2013 Print
Monday, 18 February 2013 07:04

All prize winners with chief guest, special guest and federation officials at the prize-distribution ceremony

Suvradeepta Das of India became unbeaten champion in the class VI to X (A Group), Mohammad Fahad Rahman of Jamkon Group became unbeaten champion in class play-group to class V (B group) and Tanzina Akter Tani of Motijheel Central Govt. Girls School became unbeaten champion in the Girls group (C group) in the 13th Standard Chartered Scool Chess Tournament, sponsored by Standard Chartered Bank, Bangladesh and Sponsored by Bangladesh Chess Federation which was held from 7th to 13th February 2013 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Suvraddepta earned maximum 8 points, Fahad earned maximum 7 points and Tani earned maximum 7 points to clinch the title.
In group A Md. Sohel Howlader of Khilgao Govt. School & College became runner-up and Akib Jawad of Chittagong Collegiate School became 3rd with 6½ points each. Three players earned 6 points each and became accordingly 4th to 7th positions. They are: Wahidul Alam, Prajapati Raj of Nepal and Fathi Rahman. 6 players earned 5½ points each and became 8th to 13th position. They are: Mir Ahanab Kabbya, Oyon Nur Newaz, Miraj Uddin Ahmed Sajib, Abdullah Al Raison, Afzal and Mustasin Fuad. Jamim Al Hamid of Lily Children Academy became runner up with 6 points. Nova Tasha became 3rd, Prottoya D.S. Chowdhury became 4th and Rifatul Islam Rifat became 5th with 5 points each in the B group. In the Girls section Fatema-Tuz-Zohra Sraboni became runner-up. Sharlin Maliha became 3rd, Tiasa Tagore became 4th Tasnim Rahman Mishel became 5th and Nushrat Jahan Nafisa became 6th with 5 points each in girls section.
The Prize distribution ceremony was held last Wednesday at the National Sports Council Tower Auditorium. Honorable State Minister of Home Affairs Advocate Shamsul Hoque Tuku distributed prizes among the winners to present as chief guest. Mrs. Bitopi Das Chowdhury, Head of Corporate Affairs of Standard Chartered Bank was present as special guest.
Mr. K.M. Shahidullah, Vice-President of Bangladesh Chess Federation preside the ceremony and Mr. Gazi Shayiful Tarique, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation gave address in the prize distribution ceremony. Group A was held in 8 round Swiss-League system, Group B and C were held in 7 round Swiss-League system. Students from India, Nepal, Dhaka city and several districts of Bangladesh were participated. Bangladesh Chess Federation provided free board and lodge to foreign students and students from several districts of Bangladesh.
One Lac Bangladeshi Take (About 1250 US dollars) and trophies were given to the winners. This is a popular chess event for school students. The event started from 1999 and from 2001 students from foreign countries can participate. There are two parts of the event. One was open event for all which was held in Dhaka. Another six divisional school events will be held in 6 divisions in Bangladesh very soon and the divisional events open only for students own division. 

Group A Champion Suvraddepta Das of India receiving his prize

Group B Champion Mohammad Fahad Rahman of Bangladesh receiving his prize

Girls (Group-C) Champion Tanzina Akter Tani of Bangladesh receiving her prize 

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed