Vienna Chess Open Concluded Print
Wednesday, 28 August 2013 18:52
The 18th edition of the Vienna Chess Open was held on 17th – 25th August 2013 at the Vienna Town Hall – Stiege 1, Lichtenfelsgasse 2 – in the Austrian Capital.

The event consisted of four playing groups:
Group A, Open to all / 9 rounds CH-system
Group B, rating Elo U2000 / 9 rounds CH-system
Group C, rating Elo U1600 / 9 rounds CH-system
Group D, rating Elo U1600 / 5 rounds CH-system

Vienna Chess OpenThe playing venue was the beautiful Vienna Town Hall

The Group A had 397 participants from 39 countries, including 22 Grandmasters and 31 International Masters.

At the end of the tournament, seven players were tied on the first place with 7,5/9 points each: GM Stanislav Novikov RUS 2545, IM Batuhan Dastan TUR 2417, IM Hagen Poetsch GER 2446, GM Alexey Kim KOR 2477, GM Ralf Akesson SWE 2467, IM Jonathan Hawkins ENG 2521 and IM Kacper Drozdowski POL 2437.

Stanislav Novikov is awarded the winner’s trophy thanks to the best tie-break. Batuhan Dastan and Hagen Poetsch have earned GM norms.

The Group B had 221 participants from 30 countries. Dominik Horvath (AUT 1784) took a clear first place with 8,0/9 points.

The Group C had 91 players from seven federations. Local players Nebojsa Ritopecki and Bertalan Molnar shared the first place with 7,5/9 points each.

The Group D had 28 participants. After five rounds of play, Iuliia Zaitceva (RUS) and Thomas Spitzer (AUT) shared the first place with 4,5 points each.

Official website


arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed