19th International Open Grandmasters Chess Tournament Print
Friday, 21 March 2014 07:47

Top seede Nigel Short of England lost to Ziaur Rehman of Bangladesh

Three Indians among the leaders

Three Indians J Deepan Chakkravarthy of Tamil Nadu, Abhijit Kunte of PSPB and Vidit Santosh Gujrathi of Maharashtra and one Bangladesh grandmaster Abdulla Al-Rakib share the lead with three points each at the end of third round of the 19th International Open Grandmasters Chess tournament, organised by Alekhine Chess Club at Kolkata, today.

In a Benoni defence on the top board, Levan Pantsulaia of Georgia had to forego his rook, getting only a bishop in compensation from Abdulla. In the resultant queen and rook vs queen and knight ending, Abdulla used his extra pawn to register a win in 62 moves.

Bangladesh had a field day today, as its another grandmaster Ziaur Rahman caused the biggest upset of the tournament so far, by beating the top seed Nigel Short of England. Ziaur deviated from the regular Nimzo Indian defence to exchange the queens as early as on 8th move. He capitalised on some weak moves by Short to position his rooks strongly. Fearing the loss of further materials, Short resigned after 28 moves. 

2012 Commonwealth champion MR Lalith Babu lost to former Asian Junior champion Deepan Chakkaravarthy

Adopting Nimzo Indian defence against Debashis Das, former under 14 world champion Vidit Santosh Gujrathi of Maharashtra launched a heavy attack on the king side, with his queen, rooks and bishop. When Vidit sacrificed his bishop by playing B x h3, Debashis realised the danger and gave up the fight immediately after 22 moves. In a Slav defence, former Asian Junior champion Deepan Chakkaravarthy of Tamil Nadu sacrificed his bishop on the 13th move against 2012 Commonwealth champion MR lalith Babu of PSPB. To escape from his queen being cornered, Lalith Babu had to return the piece after seven moves, bringing parity to the game. Deepan gained a pawn in the end game and his connected pawns at the centre were vital to force a win in 60 moves.

Overnight leaders from West Bengal suffered a setback, when youngster Diptayan Ghosh had to be content with a draw against Oliver Barbosa of Philippines in a Slav defence game. Former national champion Abhijit Kunte of PSPB, commencing with Sicilain defence, continued his good run by beating Deep Sengupta, Kolkata’s highest ranked player in the tournament.

Abdulla Al-Rakib of Bangladesh defeated higher seeded Pantsulaia Levan of Georgia

Important results of the third round:

Abdulla Al-Rakib BAN   3   beat   2   Pantsulaia Levan GEO
Debashis Das IND   2   lost to   3   Vidit Santosh Gujrathi IND
Lalith Babu M.R. IND   2   lost to   3   Deepan Chakkravarthy J. IND
Barbosa Oliver PHI     drew with     Ghosh Diptayan IND
Sengupta Deep IND   2   lost to   3   Kunte Abhijit IND
Short Nigel D ENG     lost to     Rahman Ziaur BAN
Haznedaroglu Kivanc TUR     beat     Fedorchuk Sergey A. UKR
Landa Konstantin RUS   2   drew with   2   Ly Moulthun AUS
Shyam Nikil P. IND   2   drew with   2   Grigoryan Avetik ARM
Palit Somak IND   2   drew with   2   Gopal G.N. IND
Krishna C.R.G. IND   2   drew with     Mchedlishvili Mikheil GEO
Adhiban B. IND   2   beat     Ravi Teja S. IND
Sethuraman S.P. IND     drew with     Karthikeyan P. IND
Sagar Shah IND   1   lost to     Shyam Sundar M. IND
Danielsen Henrik ISL     drew with     Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND
Arun Prasad S. IND   2   beat   1   Akash Pc Iyer IND
Vignesh Nr IND   1   lost to   2   Laxman R.R. IND
Sarkar Justin USA   1   lost to   2   Abhishek Kelkar IND
Roy Prantik IND     drew with     Swayams Mishra IND
Hossain Enamul BAN   2   beat   1   Swathi Ghate IND
Narayanan Srinath IND     drew with     Surendran N. IND
Neelotpal Das IND   2   beat   1   Raghunandan K S IND
Deshpande Aniruddha IND   1   lost to   2   Swapnil S. Dhopade IND
Kiran Manisha Mohanty IND   1   lost to   2   Prasanna R Rao IND
Gomes Mary Ann IND   1   lost to   2   Karthik V.   Ap IND
Kulkarni Chinmay IND   1   lost to   2   Sundararajan Kidambi IND
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed