FIDE Trainer Awards 2008 Print
Thursday, 22 October 2009 10:11


The FIDE Trainers' Commmission (TRG) is pleased to announce the results of the FIDE Trainer 2008 Awards as approved by the Kallithea Halkidiki FIDE Congress 2009.

Botvinnik Medal (Men): Arshak Petrosian (Armenia)

Furman Medal (Women): Ye Jiangchuan (China)

Euwe Medal (Juniors): Adrian Mikhalchisin (Slovenia)

Boleslavsky Medal (Book - Build Up Your Chess Series): Artur Jussupow

Petrosian Medal (Special Achievement): Smbat Lputian (Armenia)

Hall of Fame: Mikhail Botvinnik (USSR)

The FIDE Trainer Awards 2008s is the very first initiative of Chariman Adrian Mikhalchisin of the newly formed TRG in April 2009 as proposed by his predecessor Yuri Razuvavev in the meeting of the FIDE Trainers Committee held during the Dresden FIDE Congress 2008 and subsequently approved by the Istanbul FIDE Presidential Board 2009.

A committee was immediately formed within TRG and a short list drawn up and nominations by FIDE Office Bearers, TRG and Federations were invited for the five categories whcih are as follows:

1. Botvinnik Mikhail medal for men’s trainer or captain, for best results in mens competitions where World Championships and Olympiads are valued foremost, to be considered too are long standing high results.

2. Furman Symeon medal for women’s trainer or captain, similar to Botvinnik medal but applicable to women’s competitions.

3. Euwe Max medal for juniors trainer, for best results in junior competitions, to be considered are world and continental championships plus founder of famous chess schools, training programs, and academies.

4. Boleslavsky Isaac medal for best book which instructional values are remarkable, and to be considered are also series of articles, instructional computer software, and programs for development of players.

5. Petrosian Tigran medal for a special achievement over the last years.

TRG also made the decision to also induct one or more legendary trainers of the past (and also from the present in exceptional cases) each year into a Trainers' Hall of Fame and FIDE also approved a judges’ panel (voting after September 1st, 2009) consisting of seven (7) members, all with reputation in the field of training, and whose decision would be reported to the Kallithea Halkidiki FIDE Congress 2009.

The full results of vosting are available by clicking here .
General inquiries:

FIDE Sponsor
Planning and Development Commission
Arbiters' Commission
Chess in Education Commission
Commission for Women's Chess
Ethics Commission
Events Commission
Rules Commission
System of Parings Commission
Trainers Commission
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed