FIDE Trainer Awards 2010 - Rules and Results Print
Wednesday, 20 July 2011 10:53
Information - Rules

The FIDE Trainers’ Commission (TRG) is pleased to announce the third FIDE Trainer Awards and will continue by honouring the achievements of our most successful colleagues of 2010.

There will be a judges’ panel consisting of seven (7) members, with reputation and knowledge in the field of training:

1. Ignatius Leong (Singapore) - FIDE General Secretary
2. Ali Nihat Yazici (Turkey) - FIDE Vice-President
3. Israel Gelfer (Israel) - FIDE Honorary Vice-President
4. Uwe Boensch (Germany) - GM/FST * TRG Councillor
5. Jovan Petronic (Serbia) - IM/FST * TRG Councillor
6. Alonso Zapata (Colombia) - GM/FST * TRG Member
7. Smbat Lputian (Armenia) - GM/FST

The panel has been approved by the June (Al-Ain * 5-6.06.2011) FIDE PB. The awarding ceremony will take place during the FIDE Congress 2011 (Krakow * 15-22.10.2011). A ‘Tree of Chess’ sculpture ( and a diploma will be given to each of the five (5) winners.

Each member of the judges’ panel will vote for each of the six categories separately. He/she will have the right to vote for three persons, giving three (3), two (2) and one (1) point respectively. In case of a tie in the first place, two or more winners will be announced equal first. For the Hall of Fame, the three first trainers will be accepted.

We welcome nominations for the five categories that have been approved and these are as follows:

1. Botvinnik Mikhail medal for men’s trainer or captain, for best results in men competitions where World Championships and Olympiads are valued foremost, to be considered too are long standing high results.

2. Furman Symeon medal for women’s trainer or captain, similar to Botvinnik medal but applicable to women’s competitions.

3. Euwe Max medal for juniors trainer, for best results in junior competitions, to be considered are world and continental championships plus founder of famous chess schools, training programs, and academies.

4. Boleslavsky Isaac medal for best book which instructional values are remarkable, and to be considered are also series of articles, instructional computer software, and programs for development of players.

5. Petrosian Tigran medal for a special achievement over the last years.

Nominations can be made by FIDE office bearers, TRG, and Federations. Only FIDE Senior Trainers and FIDE Trainers in exceptional circumstances can be nominated. A special form has to be filled up (see below). For the Boleslavsky medal we invite book publishers and chess software developers as well, to make nominations in this specific category.

Prizes will be announced together with the results. Chess Publishers or any sponsor, who is interest on the subject, can offer his views and sponsoring to the TRG.

The FIDE Trainers Commission will also continue to fill-up the Trainer Hall of Fame. TRG intention is that every year together with the five (5) trainers of the year awards, we will also continue to honour three of our esteemed colleagues with membership of the Trainer Hall of Fame, and besides creating a special place on TRG website ( to honour them, we will also be finding a permanent home for our Hall of Fame in one or more FIDE Academies worldwide.

Please send your nominations via email with biography attached to TRG Secretary Efstratios Grivas ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) for consideration by June 30th, 2011.

The voting will take place by July 15th, 2011 and the winners will be officially announced after the ratification by the coming FIDE GA.

Winners' List 2008 & 2009 & 2010

Medals 2008 2009 2010
Botvinnik Mikhail (Men Trainer) Petrosian Arshak (ARM) Azmaiparashvili Zurab (GEO) Tukmakov Vladimir (UKR)
Furman Symeon (Women Trainer) Ye Jiangchuan (CHN) Ye Jiangchuan (CHN) Dokhoian Yury (RUS)
Euwe Max (Juniors Trainer) Mikhalchishin Adrian (SLO) Mikhalchishin Adrian (SLO) Bykhovsky Anatoly (RUS)
Boleslavsky Isaac (Author) Jussupow Artur (GER) Grivas Efstratios (GRE) Dvoretsky Mark (RUS)
Petrosian Tigran (Special Achiev.) Lputian Smbat (ARM) Nikitin Aleksandr (RUS) Illescas Miguel (ESP)
Botvinnik Mikhail (URS) Bondarevsky Igor (URS) Chebanenko Vyachaslev (MOL)
Boleslavsky Issac (URS) Bykhovsky Anatoly (RUS) Koblenz Aleksandr (LAT)
Gurgenidze Bukhuti (GEO Furman Sumeon (URS) Zaitsev Igor (RUS)
Hall of Fame Geller Efim (URS)    
Nikitin Aleksandr (RUS)    
Kart Viktor (UKR)    
Samarian Sergiu (ROM)    

2010 Medals Awards Ceremony
FIDE Congress * Krakow – Poland
Closing Ceremony of the GA

We ask the medal winners or their representatives to receive their 2010 awards in the closing ceremony of the FIDE Congress.

The Chairman  - Adrian Mikhalchishin
The Secretary - Efstratios Grivas
Councillor - Uwe Boensch
Councillor - Jovan Petronic
Councillor - Michael Khodarkovsky

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed