Wang Hao wins the 1st Sharjah Masters Championship Print
Monday, 03 April 2017 07:23

IMG 5641

Wang Hao wins the 1st Sharjah Open

In the last round of the 1st Sharjah Open Chess Championship all leaders finished their games in a draw. The two leaders Wang Hao and Yury Kryvoruchko made a solid draw against each other, while both Adhiban and Kravtsiv had more complicated games against Radoslaw Wojtaszek and Arkadij Naiditsch, which eventually finished peacefully as well.

It gave a chance for the group of 12 players to catch the leaders on the podium but only 2 of them managed to do so - S.P. Sethuraman and Salem Saleh.

The encounter Salem Saleh – Alexander Areshchenko was obviously a key game for the organizers and the local spectators as nothing would have been more desirable than a victory in the last round for their player. The local chess star pleased all his fans by winning hard-fought game against Ukrainian player and shared the 1st place.

According to the regulations main prizes were awarded based on tie-break and were not shared. Wang Hao from China became the winner of the tournament and got a trophy and $15,000. Baskaran Adhinab finished second and Martyn Kravtsiv from Ukraine is on the third place.

Harika Dronavalli made a draw against GM Mykhaylo Oleksiyenko in the last round and with 6 points out of 9 became the best women player of the tournament.

The closing ceremony took place right after the end of the last round and was attended by Sheikh Saud Bin Abdul Aziz Al Muala, the General Secretary of UAE chess federation Husain Al Shamssi, the General Secretary of Sharjah chess club Omran Allah, the Deputy President of the organizing committee of 1st Sharjah Championship, the Chief Arbiter Sultan al Taher, the Club Executive Manager Rajai Alsusi and other officials.

The organizers have expressed their willingness to hold the 2nd Sharjah championship next year and to make this tournament a traditional one. They are also hoping to increase the prize fund for the next event.


Official website

IMG 5622

IMG 5589

Four leaders before the last round

The key game of the eighth round between two leaders Wang Hao and Martyn Kravtsiv finished in a draw relatevely quickly and 12 players, who were half a point behind, got a real chance to join the leaders in case of a victory. Baskaran Adhinban and Yury Kryvoruchko scored important wins and as a result there are four players on top with one round to go. 12 players are half a point behind, including top UAE player Salem Saleh, who defeated GM Deepan Chakkravarthy from India.

The last round is going to be exciting as Wang Hao plays against Kryvoruchko while both Adhiban and Kravtsiv will face two players with 2700+ Radoslaw Wojtaszek and Arkadij Naiditsch accordingly.

Harika Dronavalli made the third draw in a row with 2600+ GM and remains on the first place among women with 5,5 points. Her nearest rival Srija Seshadri lost today and shares second place with Mary Ann Gomes with 5 points.

Total prize fund of the tournament is US$ 60,000 and the first prize is US$15000.


Official website

r8 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 5187

r8 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 5189

Wang Hao and Martyn Kravtsiv are ahead

In the 7th round of the 1st Sharjah Open Championship Wang Hao outplayed the leader of the tournament Baskaran Adhiban to replace him on the top.
Another leader after 6th round Martyn Kravtsiv from Ukraine drew against Sandro Moreco from Argentina and kept his position in the table.
The group of 12 players are half a point behind the leaders and with two rounds to go anything can still happen.
Local star Salem Saleh won the third game in a row this time against IM Viani Antonio Dcunha from India and shares 15th place with 5 points out of 7.

GM Harika Dronavalli drew against GM Vladimir Akopian and with 5 out 7 shares the first place among women together with her compatriot Srija Seshadri. 20 years old Indian WFM Srija Seshadri (2166) defeated higher rated opponent Yakubboev Nodirbek (2427) from Uzbekistan and shows 2463 performance after 7 rounds. WGM Nino Maisuradze from France is on the third place with 4,5 points.


Official website

r7 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 4786

r7 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 4811

r7 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 4847

r7 SharjahMasters2017 byKarlovich IMG 4878

1st Sharjah Masters Championship: Adhiban and Kravtsiv lead after 6 rounds

One month after the end of FIDE Grand Prix, Sharjah Chess & Culture Club organizes another chess event - 1st Sharjah Masters International Chess Championship. The tournament is under way from 22nd March to 31st March 2017 and is held under the Patronage of H.H. Dr. Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah.

Open tournament with 9 Rounds Swiss System and impressive prize fund of US$ 60,000 gathered 230 players from 38 countries including 57 GMs and 4 top players 2700+ (Radoslav Wojtaszek (POL), Yuriy Kryvoruchko (UKR), Maxim Matlakov (RUS), Arkadij Naiditsch (AZE)). There is a huge number of Indian chess players and 28 players from the host country including local superstar GM Salem Saleh.

After 6 round Baskaran Adhiban (India) and Martyn Kravtsiv (Ukraine) share the first place with 5,5 points half a point above 7 players Wang Hao, Bassem Amin, Laurent Fressinet, Sandro Mareco, Benjamin Gledura, S.R. Sethuraman. Both leaders have already played against each other in the fifth round, when the game finished in a draw. GM Harika Dronavalli is a top seed among women players and has 4,5 points. Her compatriot WFM Srija Seshadri, who shows great performance in the tournament (including draws against GMs M. Oleksiyenko and Y. Kuzubov) is on the second place half a point behind of Harika.


Official website

Reports of the rounds and interviews with GM Daniel King

Information about Sharjah Chess & Culture Club

r6 SharjahMasters2017 byEmelianova 4Y3A3572

r6 SharjahMasters2017 byEmelianova 4Y3A3568

r6 SharjahMasters2017 byEmelianova 4Y3A3575

r6 SharjahMasters2017 byEmelianova 4Y3A3606

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed