Kashlinskaya wins the European Championship Print
Wednesday, 24 April 2019 07:21

Women Europe

Alina Kashlinskaya clinched the victory at the Women's European Champion in Antalya. The Russian led the championship until the last few rounds, playing against stronger opponents than her rivals, so she had the better tiebreak among five players who tied for the first place with 8 points out of 11.

Thus, the victory of Alina completes a double victory for Russia in the European arena, after Vladislav Artemiev achieved the title in the European Open Championship one month ago.

French player Marie Sebag won the silver medal, while Elisabeth Paehtz from Germany took bronze after winning against Atalik a hard-fought game. Inna Gaponenko from Ukraine, who was leading before the last round, was stopped by Antoaneta Stefanova and finished on the 4th place. Former World Champion Antoaneta Stefanova won five consecutive games to join a five-way tie.

The 14 best players out of the 130 participants have qualified for the next World Women's Cup:

1.- IM Alina Kashlinskaya (RUS, 2461)
2.- GM Marie Sebag (FRA, 2461)
3.- IM Elisabeth Paethz (GER, 2456)
4.- IM Inna Gaponenko (UKR, 2428)
5.- GM Atoaneta Stefanova (ECX, 2464)
6.- WGM Pauline Guichard (FRA, 2392)
7.- WGM Ulviyya Fataliyeva (AZE, 2266))
8.- Anna Ushenina (URK, 2432)
9.- IM Stavroula Tsolakidou (GRE, 2429)
10.- Nana Dzagnidze (GEO, 2513)
11.- Jolanta Zawadzka (POL, 2418)
12.- GM Pia Cramling (SWE, 2460)
13.- IM Anastasia Bodnaruk (RUS, 2427)
14.- Monika Socko (POL, 2447)

The 20th Individual European Chess Championship for women was organized by the Turkish Chess Federation under the auspices of European Chess Union and held in the 5* Aska Lara Resort & Spa Hotel in Antalya (Turkey).

Official website

Media: press@fide.com
General inquiries: office@fide.com

FIDE Sponsor
Planning and Development Commission
Arbiters' Commission
Chess in Education Commission
Commission for Women's Chess
Ethics Commission
Events Commission
Rules Commission
System of Parings Commission
Trainers Commission
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed