Fillipov Wins 4th GMA Cup in Manila Print
Friday, 02 October 2009 08:51
filipov_gmacup GM Anton Filippov of Uzbekistan won the 4th President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo Cup held 24 to 30 September 2009 at the Duty Free Festival Center in Manila, Philippines. Filippov finished with 6.5 points in a tie with four other grandmasters to share top prizes in the $40,000 event.


Asian Chess Federation president Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan braved the typhoon which devastated Manila and awarded the Cups together with National Chess Federation of the Philippines president Prospero Pichay Jr.

GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son of Vietnam placed second followed by Ehsan Ghaem Maghami of Iran in third. Merab Gagunashvili of Georgia and Geetha Narayan Gopal of India also tied with Filippov at 6.5 points each in the 9 round Swiss among 56 players.

See final standings at