Armenian Chess Championships 2013 Print
Friday, 25 January 2013 16:12
The Armenian Chess Championship were played January 11-21, 2013, in Yerevan. Tigran Petrosian, the reigning champion from 2012, retained title after finishing clear first with 7,0/9.

It was one of the most exciting Armenian chess championships ever and it all came to a showdown in the last round. Tigran Petrosian had half a point advantage ahead of the 2010 champion Avetik Grigoryan, and Petrosian needed to defend his lead with the black pieces exactly against Grigoryan. Despite white having the initiative during the whole game, Petrosian held the attack and reaffirmed his title.

The victory gives Petrosian the highest national title and the right to participate in the Armenian national chess team together with Levon Aronian, Vladimir Akopian, Gabriel Sargissian, and Sergei Movsesian.

Replay all games from the Armenian Chess Championship

The women section was won by the silver medalist from 2012 WIM Anna Hairapetian. She scored 7,0/9, half a point ahead of the surprise of the championship, the untitled Armine Babayan. Bronze is for WIM Gasparian, who finished with the same points as Armine Babayan, but worse tiebreak. The rating favorites WGM Doluhanova and WIM Andriasian remained 4th and 5th respectively.

Official website

arm hall