## 77<sup>th</sup> FIDE Congress Turin, Italy 27 May – 5 June 2006

## **Continental Meeting Asia**

## Chairman: Mr. Khalifa Al-Hitmi (QAT)

**Present:** Florencio Campomanes (PHI), Ignatius Leong (SIN), D.V. Sundar (IND), Ibrahim Al-Bannai (UAE), Maddahi (IRI), Derrick V. Perrera (SRI), Altaf Ahmad Chaudhrt (PAK), Phillip Viner (AUT-proxy from NZL), Miyoko Watai (JPN), Song Ok Lee (KOR), Tian Hongwei (CHN), Dr. Virgilio De Asa (FIJ), Stuart Fancy (PNG), Panupano Vijjuprabha (THA), Halbagt Reyimova (TKM), Yoraly Kukuzov (TJK), B. Tilenbaeva (KGZ), Shohrat Muratkuliev (TKM), Ko Fei-Lin (CHN), Yap Choow Tun (BRU), Dang Tat Thang (VIE), Dr. Hani Al-Baytar (SYR), Adel Alasoomi (BAH), Pung Dwi Hatmisari Ambarukmi (INA), Genden Altan-Och (MGL), Genden Altan-Och (proxy from CAM), Syed Shujauddin Ahmed (BAN), Sitaram Agrahari (NEP), Zainal Abidin Ali (BRU), Dhafer A. Madhloom (IRQ), Abdul Karim Al Othari (YEM), Husan Turdaliev (UZB), Mahmood Hanif (AFG), Ignatius Leong (MYA), M. E. Maddahi (IRI), Mehrdad Pahlevanzadeh (IRI), Karimi Hadi (IRI), Prospero Pichay (PHI), Casto Abundo (PHI), Sultan Al-Nehayan (UAE), Sitaram Agrahari (NEP) Mahdi Abdul Rahim (UAE). Thomas Hoe (SIN) Megat Nizam (MAS)

Sitaram Agrahari (NEP), Mahdi Abdul Rahim (UAE), Thomas Hoe (SIN), Megat Nizam (MAS), Jaradat Ahmad (JOR), Ibrahim A. Balkar (MAS), Zainal Abidin Ali (BRU), Dalia Ameen (IRQ), Bolat Asanov (KAZ), Yakub Rakhimov (TJK), Gary Bekker (AUT), Abdul Hamid Majid (MAS)

 Asian Continental President Khalifa Al-Hitmi of Qatar opened the meeting and submitted his report as attached. Asian Secretary General D. V. Sundar submitted his report as attached. Treasurer Michael Shadarevian submitted his written report of the accounts and of federations arrears.

The Asian calendar of tournaments for 2006 was reviewed. For 2007, National Chess Federation of the Philippines President Prospero Pichay confirmed organization of the Asian Individual Championship with a prize fund of \$32,000.

Before elections, FIDE Honorary President Florencio Campomanes praised the achievements of Continental President Khalif Al Hitmi during his 16 year term.

Elections were held for the office of Asian Continental President. Candidates addressed the assembly after which elections were held by secret ballot. Out of 43 votes cast, the results were 29 votes for Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifa Al Nehyan of the UAE and 14 votes for Hamid Majid of Malaysia.

On taking office, Sheikh Sultan appointed Mr. Casto Abundo of the Philippines as Deputy President for Asia and Mr. Hisham El Taher of the UAE as Secretary General. The Assembly approved by acclamation. On nomination of Sheikh Sultan, the Assembly confirmed Mr. Mehrdad Pahlavenzadeh of Iran as Treasurer.

Elections were held for the four Executive Board members and the elected members were: Ibrahim Al Bannai (UAE) 37 Ye Jiangchuan (CHN) 33 Dr. Mohamed Ebrahim Madvahi (IRI) 33

## D. V. Sundar (IND) 29

The following Zones reported their new Zone Presidentsç

- Zone 3.1 Mr. Adel Alassoomi of Bahrain
- Zone 3.2 Mr. Bharat Singh of India
- Zone 3.3 Mr. Dang Tat Thang of Vietnam
- Zone 3.4 Mr. Gary Bekker of Australia
- Zone 3.5 Mr. Chen Zude of China
- Zone 3.6 Undecided

Sheikh Sultan thanked the members for their support and adjourned the meeting.

Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nehyan President

Casto Abundo Deputy President for Asia