Magnus Carlsen and Kateryna Lagno are World Blitz Champions Print
Saturday, 29 December 2018 19:06
Rapidblitz 2018 eng top

The King Salman World Rapid and Blitz Championships ended in the Manege, St. Petersburg, Russia, on December 30.

Alexander Zhukov, First Deputy Chairman of the Russian State Duma, made an honorary first move in the starting game of the day, Carlsen-Giri. 

Please view final standings and complete prize fund allocations: PDF | Excel

Magnus Carlsen (Norway) defended his title of the world's strongest blitz player by dominating the championship with 17/21. Jan-Krzysztof Duda (Poland) finished second with 16.5 points. Hikaru Nakamura (USA) took third with 14.5 points.

Magnus Carlsen: “I am just relieved. Today was a very tough day. I was in front but being chased, and this is never easy. Yesterday the score was good, and the play was maybe not as great, but I feel I am usually best against the best players. Today I played very well and needed every single half point to win.”

Kateryna Lagno (Russia) won the Women's Section and repeated her success of 2010. She collected 13.5 points. Sarasadat Khademalsharieh (Iran) won the silver with 13 points. Lei Tingjie (China) got the bronze with 12.5 points.

Kateryna Lagno: “I am very happy, of course. It is interesting that I didn't lose a single game. Of course I was lucky in some games, but managed to hold them, and I think this is the first time in my life when I did not lose a single game in a blitz tournament.”

The rewards for champions and medal winners of the championships, side event, contest, and trivia winners were given at the closing ceremony.

FIDE President Arkady Dvorkovich and His Highness Prince Fahad bin Jalawi bin Abdulaziz bin Mousaad Al Saud, Adviser to the President of General Sports Authority of Saudi Arabia, awarded the World Champions and medal winners of the championships.

The players with the best combined score also received special rewards. Magnus Carlsen won the prize in the Open Section, Sarasadat Khademalsharieh got it in the Women's Section.


The total prize fund was USD 1,150,000.

Official website

Magnus Carlsen and Vladislav Artemiev lead King Salman World Blitz Championship. Kateryna Lagno and Sarasadat Khademalsharieh are tied for first in the Women's Section

The King Salman World Blitz Championship started in the Manege in St. Petersburg. The first day started with a moment of silence to Eduard Lvovich Dubov (1938-2018), famous chess arbiter and mathematician.

FIDE President Arkady Dvorkovich made a symbolic first move in the Carlsen-Popov game.


There were 12 rounds played in the Open Section and 9 rounds in the Women's Section.

Magnus Carlsen (Norway) and Vladislav Artemiev (Russia) are tied for first with 9.5 points in the Open Section. Half a point behind are Dmitry Andreikin, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Peter Svidler (all Russia), Jan-Krzysztof Duda (Poland), and Anish Giri (Netherlands).

Artemiev Nepomniachtchi Emelianova PHC01172

Kateryna Lagno (Russia) and Sarasadat Khademalsharieh (Iran) seized the lead in the Women's Championship with 7.5 points. Ju Wenjun, Lei Tingjie, and Tan Zhongyi (all from China) are half a point behind.

PHC03041 Emelianova
Sarasadat Emelianova PHC01573
The final 9 rounds of the Open Section and 8 rounds of the Women's Section will be played on Sunday, December 30. The closing ceremony will take place on the same day.

The rounds begin at 3 p.m.; the games on the final day start at 2 p.m.

The total prize fund is USD 1,150,000.
Official website

General inquiries:

FIDE Sponsor
Planning and Development Commission
Arbiters' Commission
Chess in Education Commission
Commission for Women's Chess
Ethics Commission
Events Commission
Rules Commission
System of Parings Commission
Trainers Commission
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed