Abhijeet Gupta and Harika Dronavalli Bring Glory to India in World Junior Championship Print
Sunday, 17 August 2008 06:58


World Junior Championship 2008 ended dramatically as it started. Abhijeet Gupta won against David Howell to win the World Junior Championship title. Arik Braun and Parimarjan Negi drew their game as Eltaj Safarli and Maxim Rodshtein. Parimarjan Negi won the silver medal by 9.5 points. Third place was shared by Arik Braun, David Howell, Eltaj Safarli, Hou Yifan and Bassem Amin. Notes and pictures from the final rounds and the closing ceremony below.

Round 12

One thing that does not change is the "change" itself! In the penultimate round of the World Junior Championship, Abhijeet Gupta grounded down Arik Braun to share the lead with David Howell who won against Maxim Rodshtein, and Parimarjan Negi who won against Ngoc Truong Son Nguyen at 9 points out of 12. Eltaj Safarli and Arik Braun are still at striking distance with 8.5 points.

In World Junior Girls Championship Harika Dronavalli won against Narmin Kazimova and has 10 points out of 12. Her closest rival Mariya Muzychuk drew with Anastasia Bodnaruk and has 9 points now. Swaminathan Soumya and Miranda Mikadze drew their games and Mikadze is at the third place with 8.5 points. 5 players led by Kübra Öztürk from the home side are at a striking distance.





Şehitkamil Municipality presented a plaque to FIDE representatives, Honorary President Mr.Florencio Campomannes and Continental President of Americas Mr.Jorge Vega


The protocol

Honorary President of FIDE adressing the guests and the protocol


Vice President of FIDE and the President of Turkish Chess Federation Ali Nihat Yazıcı


The main sponsor and host of the event Şehitkamil Municipality Mayor Mr.Metin Özkarslı receving his memory plaque from the President of Turkish Chess Federation and Vice-President of FIDE Ali Nihat Yazıcı.



Media: press@fide.com
General inquiries: office@fide.com

FIDE Sponsor
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed