Women's World Champion Hou Yifan - Sportsperson of the Year in China Print
Tuesday, 18 January 2011 14:13

The CCTV award "Sportsperson of the Year" was established in 2001, the contest was held seven times till the present. Event organizers award the most authoritative and influential figures of sport in China.

The results of the vote distinguished the following persons who succeeded in 2010. Lin Dan was recognized as the best sportsman while Wang Meng as the best sportswoman, short track coach Li Yan received the award as the best coach. The figure skating winners of the Winter Olympic games Shen Xue and Zhao Hongbo once again have been named the best sports couple. Women's World Chess Champion Hou Yifan was recognized as the best sportswoman involved in a sport that is not included in the Olympic category. Swimmer Sun Yang received the award in the category "Newcomer of the Year". And an art collective "Sail in the white clouds" took an award for "Sporting Spirit of unknown actors".

Women's Team of the Blind was awarded the prize for sporting spirit of the disabled. The Directors crew that worked on the opening and closing ceremonies of Asian and Para-Asian Games in Guangzhou received an award for their special contribution to the sport. The Chinese national team in short track was recognized as the best team and the PLA military pentathlon was awarded the highest prize of the jury.
Media: press@fide.com
General inquiries: office@fide.com

FIDE Sponsor
Planning and Development Commission
Arbiters' Commission
Chess in Education Commission
Commission for Women's Chess
Ethics Commission
Events Commission
Rules Commission
System of Parings Commission
Trainers Commission
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed