Vladimir Fedoseev wins Aeroflot Open 2017 Print
Tuesday, 07 March 2017 23:05
Vladimir Fedoseev became the winner of the 15th Aeroflot Open, which finished on March 1st, in the hotel "Cosmos" in Moscow/Russia.

Fedoseev scored 7 points out of 9 games, and became the clear winner, and he also won the ticket for the super tournament in Dortmund in July this year.

The second place was shared by GMs Evgeny Najer and Nikita Vitiugov, both from Russia, and Vladislav Kovalev from Belarus. According to the tie-breaks, second place went to Najer, and the third to Kovalev.


98 players from 28 countries took part in the main event and fought for the great prize fund of 65.000 EUR.

International Master Gabriel Battaglini (France) triumphed in the B tournament with 7 points, among 118 participants from 19 countries. IM Maxim Lugovskoy (Russia), Valeriy Kazakovskiy (Belarus) and Abhishek Kelkar (India) tied for the second place with the half a point behind.

C Tournament gathered 112 players from 22 countries. The first place with 7.5 points went to German Bazeev (Russia). IM Timofey Iljin (Ukraine) and FIDE Master Gleb Apryshko (Russia) tied for the second place with half a point behind.

The total prize fund of all 3 tournaments was 120 000 euros.

Organizers of the festival were OJSC "Aeroflot", the Russian Chess Federation and the Association of Chess Federations.

On Thursday 2nd March, the traditional Blitz tournament was held, with the top seed Sergey Karjakin.

The Blitz event was won by Ukrainian Grandmaster Anton Korobov, who scored 15.5 points out of 18 games. Second place went to Rauf Mamedov (Azerbaijan) with 13.5 points, while the third place was tied by Daniil Dubov (Russia), Alejandro Ramirez (USA) and Vladislav Artemiev (Russia), all with 13 points.

Official Website

arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
arb banner
banner arrears
facebook twitter gplus rss
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed