14th Asian Schools Chess Championship 2018 Print
Tuesday, 10 July 2018 07:39

Opening Move by Mr Manjula KariyawasamDirector General Sport-Ministry of Education

14th Asian Schools Chess Championship 2018 started on 8th July 2018 at Beautiful Resort Hotel Citrus, Waskaduwa in Sri Lanka. The inauguration of the 14th edition of the Asian Schools Chess Championship was held on 9th July 2018 with the total participation of 454 players from 16 Countries.

Participants from Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Sri Lanka are playing in the event. Event will held as categories of Under 07, 09,11,13,15 and 17 Open and Girls ыeparately. Mr. ManjulaKariyawasam (Director General Sport - Ministry of Sport), Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya (Chairman of the organizing Committee and the General Secretary of Commonwealth Chess Association), IA Tserendorj Sainbayar (President of the Mongolian Chess Federation), IA Husan Turdialiev (President of 3.4 zone of FIDE), IO Sahapol Nakvanich (Secretary of the Thailand Chess Federation), IA Buddhi Panagoda (Secretary of the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka), IA ThiwankaTissera (Chief Arbiter of the event), IA Dayal Siriwadena (Treasurer of the CFSL) and other distinguish guests graced the occasion.

Rapid version of the Asian Schools Chess Championship 2018 was held on 8th July 2018. Event was held as 7 rounds swish system with 15 minutes + 10 seconds time control. The winners list is as follow. Sri Lankan players grabbed 2 Gold Medals, 2 Silver Medals and a Bronze Medal at the Rapid event. Sasith Nipun Piyumantha, the Asian under 16 Champion this year and Miss Esha Pallie won gold medal at the under 17 Boys and Under 11 Girls respectively. Kevin Ranindu Sulva and Nethmi Fernando won silver medals in under 13 Open and Under 15 Girls while Miss Sanidula Dahamdi won the Bronze medal at under 11 girls event.

The event will progress till 14th July 2018.

The winners of 14th Asian Schools Rapid Chess Championship 2018 are as follows:

Age Category Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
Under07 Open Jaivardhan Raj
Under 07 Girls AdiyabilegtAnu-Ujin
Lakshana Subramanian
Under09 Open CM Begmuratov Khumoyun
Raghu Ram Reddy Seelam
CM ManonRejaNeer
Under 09 Girls WCM KhamdamovaAfruza
Under11 Open Garv Gaur
Sulaimanov Tilekmatali
Makhmudjonov Davlatbek
Under 11 Girls WCM Pallie Ehsha Mishela
(Sri Lanka)
WCM Sanudula K M Dahamdi
(Sri Lanka)
Under13 Open Rakhmatullaev Almas
CM Silva Kevin Ranidu
(Sri Lanka)
Mahmood Shah Mukhriez Shah
Under 13 Girls WCM Omonova Umida
Sim Jia Ru
Under 15 Open Mehta Naitik R
Kasimov Ali
FM IsanzhulovArystan
Under 15 Girls WCM Sultanbek Zeinep
Fernando G W Nethmi L
(Sri Lanka)
Nanditha V
Under17 Open FM Piyumantha M Sasith Nipun
(Sri Lanka)
FM Abdisalimov Abdimalik
FM Abdurakhmanov Mukhmmadali
Under 17 Girls WFM Serikbay Assel
Arushi Kotwal
Saparova Sitora

DSC 0635

DSC 0637

DSC 0639

DSC 0646

DSC 0658

DSC 0667

DSC 0698

DSC 0715

From Left IA Buddhi PanagodaIA Husan Turdialiev President of 3.4 zone IO Sahapol Nakvanich Secretary of the Thailand Chess Federation Mr Indika Jayawardena

Mr Luxman Wijesuriya

Oil Lamp by IA Husan Turdialiev President of 3.4 zone

DSC 0614

Media: press@fide.com
General inquiries: office@fide.com

FIDE Sponsor
Planning and Development Commission
Arbiters' Commission
Chess in Education Commission
Commission for Women's Chess
Ethics Commission
Events Commission
Rules Commission
System of Parings Commission
Trainers Commission
©  World Chess Federation   |  FIDE News RSS Feed