International Chess Federation
< Return
84th FIDE Congress: 2013 Emergency General Assembly Minutes
Sunday, 13 October 201384th FIDE Congress: 2013 Emergency General Assembly Minutes

FIDE publishes the Minutes of Emergency General Assembly that was held in Tallinn, Estonia, on 9 October 2013.

FIDE Congress
Tallinn, Estonia
Emergency General Assembly
9 October 2013


1. A quorum was established.

2. Confirmation of the ELE for Tromso 2014

The Secretariat received four candidates for the position of the ELE Chairman within the deadline, two of whom resigned before the start of the General Assembly.
The existing members of the ELE (Ms. A. Santens, Mr. G. Borg and Mr. P. Klerides) were approved as Scrutineers, with one objection.
Ms. Margaret Murphy, President of the US Virgin Islands Chess Federation, was unanimously elected as ELE Chairman for Tromso 2014 after Mr. Tomasz Sielicki, delegate of Polish Chess Federation, withdrew his candidacy.

3. Proxies

The Chairman of the temporary ELE, A. Santens presented proposed clarifications to the Statutes regarding the election process. Further clarifications were then sought and the EGA unanimously approved the document with two amendments.

FIDE will post guidance on the proxy rules, and forms for designating delegates and assigning and re-assigning proxies, at the latest four months before the opening of the General Assembly 2014.