International Chess Federation
Monday, 16 May 2022 17:25
Gligoric Trophy 2021: Call for nominations

FIDE is pleased to announce the Gligoric Trophy 2021, an award established to give recognition to an individual who, in that year, had displayed exemplary behaviour that promotes the spirit of fair play and sportsmanship in chess. 

Candidates to win the Svetozar Gligoric Trophy shall have demonstrated during the period January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, the following accomplishments: 

- Outstanding gesture or action of sportsmanship during the sports event.

- Outstanding contribution to the popularization of the values and principles of Fair Play.

- Outstanding support towards initiatives on enforcement of ethical values.

- Promotion of integrity and high ethical standards.

The Svetozar Gligoric Trophy is a recognition of sportsmen who exercise the fundamental values of Fair Play both during and beyond the game. It's a way of thinking rather than a mere behaviour and includes the concepts of:

To enjoy the victory is not enough. Triumph must include fairness and honesty

Written rules are mandatory. Unwritten rules of respect for all are obligatory

Rivalry in sports does not exclude friendship

Team Spirit
A genuine consideration for others

Competing on equal terms is essential

The ability or willingness to accept what you may not agree with

True champions care about each other

Nomination Procedure 

The winner of the Gligoric Trophy is selected annually by the Award Commission chaired by Mr Mahir Mammedov and its two members, the Grandmasters Mrs Judit Polgar (FIDE Honorary Vice-President) and Mr Eugenio Torre. Proposals for Nominations (Nomination Letter) shall be submitted by Continental Federations, National Federations, and FIDE Commissions to the Gligoric Trophy Award Commission ( no later than June 15, 2022. 

Nominations coming from individuals, including self-nominations, are also allowed, but they should be channelled through the Federation associated with the nominee.

We would like to stress again that this is an award for the nominee's accomplishments during the previous year and NOT a recognition of a lifelong career.

Please note that Commission's decision is final and not open to discussion, nor shall the members of the Commission be requested to give any justification beyond what they wish to, with their final announcement.

The Award Ceremony will take place in August 2022, during the 44th FIDE Olympiad in Chennai.

About the award 

The fair play award, named after Svetozar Gligoric, was established by FIDE in 2019. 

In the 1950s and 1960s, Svetozar Gligoric was one of the top players in the world and one of the most prominent, owing to his particularly engaging personality. At the chessboard, Gligoric was an uncompromising fighter and, at the same time, a symbol of gentlemanhood and correctness. His impeccable reputation has been a deserved result of his success in chess games and fair-play manners. Gligoric's trademark was high respect for his chess opponents: his main principle was – It's chess pieces, not a man I play against! It is no coincidence that the book of Gligoric's selected games is called "I play against pieces!" 

The first recipient of this award was Magnus Carlsen, who was awarded his Trophy during the FIDE World Cup in Sochi, 2021.