International Chess Federation
Tuesday, 19 Sep 2023 16:56
FIDE Book Awards 2023 – Call for Nominations

Dear Authors and Publishers,

The FIDE Trainers’ Commission (TRG) invites you to submit your nominations for the Yuri Averbakh/Isaac Boleslavsky Book Awards 2023.

Eligible are chess books published in 2022. Publishers can submit up to three books, while authors may submit one book. Submissions should be emailed to, with a deadline of October 4, 2023.

Once confirmed, TRG will advise where three copies of the books should be sent to the judges for review. The panel of judges will consist of three prominent chess personalities. The winner and two runners-up will be announced in the middle of December.

The Boleslavsky Isaac FIDE Book Award was launched in 2009 for the best book and publications of remarkable instructional value.

In 2019, the Award name was changed to the Yuri Averbakh/Isaac Boleslavsky Award, paying tribute to these two giants of chess literature.

Nomination Form

List of Winners 2008-2021