International Chess Federation
Thursday, 01 Apr 2021 13:42
SF Deizisau e.V wins European Online Chess Club Cup 2021

SF Deizisau e.V took the European Online Chess Club Cup 2021 after winning the final stage of the competition.

91 teams participated in the event with 18 squads advancing to the play-offs. The best 10 teams of play-offs qualified for the final which took place from 30th-31st March.

Neither team completed the tournament distance unbeaten. The champion scored 14 match points losing one match and drawing two. Clichy Echecs 92 from France came in second with 13 match points. Two teams, Mednyi Vsadnik (Russia) and Poland Hussars (Poland), tied for the bronze medal netting 11 match points each with the former getting bronze in accordance with board points.

Special prize “Vasily Smyslov” was awarded to a winner of the best game of the tournament Vladislav Artemiev who stunned Mateusz Bartel with a spectacular queen sacrifice. The game can be seen here.

The best individual players per board will be awarded special prizes according to their performance: the top three individual board players will receive e-medals, while the best players on each board will take home €400. 

1st board: 

  • GM Jan-Krzysztof Duda (POL, 2729, Poland Hussars), Performance: 2890
  • GM Jorden Van Foreest (NED, 2701, Clichy Echecs 92), Performance: 2857
  • GM Vladimir Fedoseev (RUS, 2687, Mednyi Vsadnik), Performance: 2823

Jan-Krzysztof Duda Photo: Maria Emelianova (

2nd board:

  • GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (IND, 2726, Novy Bor), Performance: 2786
  • GM Maxim Matlakov (RUS, 2688, Mednyi Vsadnik), Performance: 2726
  • GM David Howell (ENG, 2658, 4NCL Guildford), Performance: 2725

3rd board:

  • GM Bartosz Socko (POL, 2618, Poland Hussars), Performance: 2674
  • GM Amin Bassem (EGY, 2695, Clichy Echecs 92), Performance: 2664
  • GM Nijat Abasov (AZE, 2664, Odlar Yurdu), Performance: 2654

4th board:

  • GM Andrey Esipenko (RUS, 2701, Mednyi Vsadnik), Performance: 2767
  • GM Gawain Jones (END, 2670, 4NCL Guildford), Performance: 2708
  • GM Vasif Durarbayli (AZE, 2606, Odlar Yurdu), Performance: 2697

Andrey Esipenko Photo: John Saunders

5th board (Reserve players):

  • GM Vincent Keymer (GER, 2591, SF Deizisau e.V.), Performance: 2812
  • GM Aleksandr Shimanov (RUS, 2597, Mednyi Vsadnik), Performance: 2661
  • GM Eltaj Safarli (AZE, 2598, Odlar Yurdu), Performance: 2656

All the results and standings can be found here.

The Closing Ceremony of the event will take place on Friday, 2nd of April, starting from 17:00 CET and will be broadcasted through the ECU Twitch channel and the European Chess TV Youtube channel.

All the rounds and games of the event were broadcasted live from the ECU LIVE studio, together with commentaries by WGM Keti Tsatsalashvili and her special guests: ECU President Zurab Azmaiparashvili, ECU Vice Presidents: Adrian Mikhalchishin, Dana Reizniece-Ozola, and Eva Repkova.