International Chess Federation
Monday, 11 Jan 2021 14:32
Svetozar Gligoric Trophy 2020

The FIDE Council approved, during its 4th quarter 2020 meeting, the proposal to consider online chess events when awarding the Gligoric Trophy for the year 2020. The decision is only natural, considering that the vast majority of chess events during 2020 were played online. 

Candidates to win the Svetozar Gligoric Trophy shall have demonstrated during the period January 1st, 2020, to December 31, 2020, the following accomplishments: 

- Outstanding gesture or action of sportsmanship during the sports event.
- Outstanding contribution to the popularization of the values and principles of Fair Play.
- Outstanding support towards initiatives on enforcement of ethical values.
- Promotion of integrity and high ethical standards. 

The spirit of the "Fair Play Svetozar Gligoric Trophy" is to give recognition to an individual who, during the previous year, had displayed exemplary behavior that promotes the spirit of fair play and sportsmanship in chess. 

We would like to stress again that this is an award for the nominee's accomplishments during the previous year, and NOT a recognition of a lifelong career.

Nomination Procedure 

The winner of the Gligoric Trophy is selected annually by the Award Commission chaired by Mr. Mahir Mammedov and its two members, the Grandmasters Mrs. Judit Polgar (FIDE Honorary Vice-President), and Mr. Eugenio Torre. Proposals for Nominations (Nomination Letter) shall be submitted by Continental Federations, National Federations, and FIDE Commissions, to the Gligoric Trophy Award Commission ( no later than February 20, 2021. 

Individual nominations, including self-nominations, are permitted, but they should be channeled through the Federation associated with the nominee. 

Please note, that Commission’s decision is final and not open to discussion, nor shall the members of the Commission be requested to give any justification beyond what they wish to, with their final announcement. 

About the award 

The fair play award named after Svetozar Gligoric was established by FIDE in 2019.

In the 1950s and 1960s, Svetozar Gligoric was one of the top players in the world and one of the World’s most prominent, owing to his particularly engaging personality. At the chessboard, Gligoric was an uncompromising fighter and at the same time a symbol of gentlemanhood and correctness. His impeccable reputation has been a deserved result of his success in chess games and fair-play manners. Gligoric’s trademark was high respect to his chess opponents: his main principle was – It’s chess pieces, not a man I play against! It is no coincidence that the book of Gligoric’s selected games is called “I play against pieces!” 

Svetozar Gligoric Award is a recognition of sportsmen who exercise the fundamental values of Fair Play both during and beyond the game. It’s a way of thinking rather than a mere behavior and includes the concepts of: 

To enjoy the victory is not enough. Triumph must include fairness and honesty
Written rules are mandatory. Unwritten rules of respect to all are obligatory
Rivalry in sport does not exclude friendship
Team Spirit
A genuine consideration for others
Competing on equal terms is essential
The ability or willingness to accept what you may not agree with
True champions care about each other